Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was a recipe that has been passed down in my family as well. It's called 'crazy cake' because it's made without eggs and butter. It became popular during War Rations because it didn't use eggs or butter. Our family recipe calls for 2 Tablespoons of vinegar, 2 teaspoons of salt and 3/4 c. oil. It makes a FANTASTICly chocolatey cake (and trust me, you can't taste the vinegar). If you're making a layer cake, I'd use less oil, as the 3/4 c. makes a very soft and tender cake that won't hold up outside a pan. We top our crazy cake with a boiled chocolate p'nut butter frosting (fudgy!) or with cool whip and a variety of crushed up chocolate candies...but it's way yummy just right out of the pan with nothing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I changed the recipe a little. I took the cocoa up to a full cup, and added an egg for good measure. The cake turned out rich and moist! It was so simple to make, too! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mangoduck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Exactly like I remember my granny making, I added a little extra oil, cocoa, and an extra tbsp of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this for my son's birthday as he is allergic to diary and eggs and let's just say he wasn't the only one to love it. It gets requested now for other birthdays. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLMETOPAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very dense - kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I love this recipe ! I added 1 cup of cocoa as others have said and some choocolate chips hehehe. I also used milk instead of water with a 1/2 tsp of instant coffee mixed into it. I baked it jelly roll style and used chocolate butter cream filling and topped with chocolate ganache for the most evil chocolate desert ever FTW! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Photo by Franksperfectflower
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made cupcakes from this recipe. It makes 24 moist cupcakes. As recommeneded by other bakers who rated this recipe, I put 1 cup of cocoa. I would even say that you could get away with adding a bit more AND a half a cup of chocolate chips, which would enhance the chocolaty flavor and sweetness. I am surprised at how well they turned out, considering the absence of milk and eggs...I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i was a little nervous about making this cake after reading such extreme contrasting views - i decided that i'd go for it, hoping that the raving reviews would reflect my opinion. so i started to bake this cake for my husbands birthday party - after i had the batter in the cake pan and ready to go into the oven i realized that there wouldn't be enough for all of the party guests so i hauled out my ingredients again and made another batch. here's the interesting part. i found that the first batch had a cookie dough consistancy vs. a cake batter consistancy but the second time around it was like a typical cake batter. my conclusion is that i must have missed adding something in the first batch because the first cake was: 1. baked in only 20 minutes 2. very dry 3. very flavorless. Yikes!! BUT.. The second cake was AMAZING living up to every positive review I read... so my advice is to: 1. carefully follow the directions and 2. don't give up if the first cake is a dud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
we use this recipe for birthday parties. Sometimes we start eating it while it is still warm with no frosting....yum! We have added chocolate chips to be naughty! Jamie started it in the family and now it is a Tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyriclady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I have the same recipe, all the measurements are exactly half (not the vanilla still use 1tsp) and bake in an 8x8 pan. The cake is pretty good. Its from my childhood too, so it brings back great memories. Its moist & yummy, try it one day when your out of eggs and craving cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYKATTz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States