Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very good, maybe I'll add more cooca as suggested next time, but overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have made this cake for years. My recipe is called Wacky Cocoa Cake. It has 2 TBS. of vinegar though. It is a very heavy cake and you either love it or hate. There is no in between. My late grandfather used to make up holidays so that I would make it for him. I used to bake for a restaurant and I told the customers, you will either love it or totally hate it. More often than not, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
My boys love this cake. My youngest son needed a science project for school, how mixing different things togethet make something else. He used this cake as his science project. My recipe is a little different, I use 2 tablespoons of cidar vinegar, 3/4 cups liquid vegetable oil, 6 tablespoons of cocoa, and I leave the vanilla out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The cake was okay. It turned out better than i expected, although it wasn't very sweet. The cake was a little dry on the inside. It didn't taste bad, it just isn't my idea of chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cook for 500 school kids, and they love when I make this chocolate cake. I sprinkle the cake with powdered sugar instead of frosting. This cake also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Martin, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I added some fresh raspberries out of the garden and made a cream cheese frosting. WOW!!!Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I remember this as a child, called Wacky Chocolate Cake. Very moist, and the vinegar does make a difference, it just brightens up the flavour. We used it as a layered cake with cherry pie filling in the middle, iced with whipping cream. It makes a VERY moist version of dark forest cake we called Dark Bush Cake! Yum, yum! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a strange recipe. The batter tasted good. The cake smelled wonderful while baking. It looked great when it was done. The texture was perfect, very moist and dense. Unfortunately, it didn't taste very good. It's not that it tasted bad, it didn't have much of a flavor at all. I topped it with a rich chocolate frosting, and the kids were happy, but I'm glad I didn't make it for company. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Cake really is not very chocolatey, and when baked is kind of mushy. Taste wasn't great. Vinegar definitely does not belong in a chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
It's cool, tasty, and TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States