Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
When i was growing up this was the only cake my brother and i ever wanted on our birthdays. My mother called it mud cake. she also had a specific chocolate frosting that went on it that in my opinion make the cake. However, my brother liked the cake with no frosting at all. It is the easiest cake to make and the best chocolate cake i have ever had. But i have never once mixed in the pan like it says to. the trick to this is in the mixing bowl u mix every thing together except the vinegar. Then when the batter is smooth u add your vinegar and then pour into a greased and floured pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapelje, Montana, USA
Living In: Ryegate, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Just a wonderful recipe. My Gramma used to bake this, she was a teenager in the Depression and had to make do with what she had in the pantry. When she made it years later for us, she taught me how to make it. We did add more cocoa to and a bit less oil. How anyone can mess this up or come out with a "bad" cake is beyond my understanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My grandma used to make this cake and it is wonderful! I came looking especially for this recipe because I knew it had no eggs and I am out of eggs but still wanted to bake a cake. I couldn't find my personal recipe so I was so pleased to see it on here. It has even impressed my mother-in-law once!! This time I used 1 cup of cold coffee to replace 1 of the cups of water and I sprinkled the batter with cinnamon (don't know how much.) Fabulous!!! Now it is a crazy caapacino cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I used the Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa with this which maybe explains the rich chocolate flavor that my family experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I have a vegan friend at work and wanted to make this for a potluck so she could actually eat something! It was pretty good in my opinion! I made cupcakes instead of cake, so I had to adjust the cooking time and I unfortunately baked them maybe 2 minutes too long b/c they were slightly dry - otherwise they tasted really, really good! No one had any idea they didn't have any animal products in them unless I told them. I made a vegan frosting to go with them but next time would probably just sprinkle some powdered sugar on top. Don't knock the recipe until you try it - it's pretty surprising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe and added extra cocoa powder & 1 tbsp vinegar as suggested by others. The centre of the cake was not cooked after 35min, so I cut out the sides and put the soggy piece to bake again. It cooked after another 20 mins. The textture of the cake was moist & good, except for the taste. It has a 'pungent' smell, which I think might be from the baking soda. Wonder why nobody mentioned this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I had long forgotten about this cake! My nana used to tell stories of making this when she was younger and she made this when I was very young. I made it lastnight and told my boyfriends mom about it and she was almost in tears. (her late mom used to make it) I added extra cocoa as well as shredded chocolate bar to the batter (no choc. chips) and it turned out wonderful. I'm just one of those people that loves the taste of this cake! It's perfect =-) I will be making it a lot now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I've been making this cake for over 45 years and it is still a favorite. It works out better if you sift flour first--then measure--sift again with other ingredients. I usually do this on a couple pieces of wax paper a couple of times, then sift it into the pan and finish it. It's worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missygail
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have used this recipe for years and my mom has used it even longer. It is pretty much the only chocolate cake recipe that I use. I have lots of friends that don't eat eggs, and they love when I bring this cake to work. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a good recipe for not having any dairy or eggs in it. I'm not a big fan of cocoa powder in cake and frosting recipes because it tends to make them taste like chocolate milk. Next time I make it I might try actually using melted chocolate instead. Otherwise good consistency and moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States