Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I needed a non dairy, non-egg cake recipe. I found this one and went further by using a combination of non-wheat flours, sucanat and agave instead of white cane sugar and the result was fantastic. I have made this "birthday" cake for 40 plus children and teachers every year for three years and will be making it again! Thnaks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe is fine as it is. However, I always use a mixing bowl, then pour it into a Pam sprayed baking dish. For a mocha flavor, use cold coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I just made this today. The recipe didn't talk about sifting the flour, but I did anyways...In hoping that my cake will rise higher. The cake turned out beautiful! It was soft, moist, big, and delicious (even when I halved the recipe)! I used a LITTLE less sugar (for my personal preference). IT'S MY FIRST TIME MAKING CHOCOLATE CAKE FROM SCRATCH, AND I SUCCEEDED BIG TIME!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i've been using this recipe for quite a while now and i *love* it! it's my go-to recipe for a quick and easy vegan treat. and the ingredients are staples! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This recipe is okay as is (especially if for kids and with filling or frosting)--but it would be rated higher with the following changes: increase the amount of cocoa to 1 cup, and use two teaspoons of vanilla or add a teaspoon of chocolate extract. SIFT the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix them with the wet ingredients before adding to a prepared pan--if you sift the dry, it will help the leavening be more uniform than mixing in the pan. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just made this cake, and it tastes pretty good. I used 1 cup of cocoa as others suggestions. Also, I halved the cake, spread it w/ strawberry jam. And top the cake w/ cream cheese frosting w/ pecan. It was good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My mom makes a version of this cake. I love it because I almost always have all the ingredients on hand. I mixed the dry ingredients together, then added all the liquids and mixed. Then I poured it into a greased pan. I baked it for a little longer than the recipe suggests, maybe an extra 10 or 15 minutes. It turned out chocolatey and substantial--not airy. Next time I'll cut the sugar, maybe as much as by half. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I Made this for a surprise 90 birthday . It was gone in 10 minutes and everybody wanted the recipe. I told them where I got it. It gets five stars from me. Simple to prepare. delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent cake, though I did just pour all the ingredients together in a bowl and mix it like you would a traditional cake (without all the wells separating ingredients etc) -- and it was very good. Didn't use frosting of any sort, ate it plain and it was very similar to a brownie-taste -- just in a lighter fluffier cake format. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a good and super easy cake, so easy I could have let my 8yr old make it alone. Ella, the first reviewer who had such bad results must have missed ingredients or something, because this turns out great for me every time. The cake is so easy to make that I have time and energy to get creative with the frosting! People always comment on the flavor and texture. I think it is not as intensely chocolatey as some of the more traditional chocolate cake recipes on this site, but it sure is a lot quicker and always turns out 100 times better than the cheater cakes at the store bakery, so I'm happy to make this when we have unexpected guests or a party to go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States