Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My mom let us make this cake when we were kids. We made wells in the dry ingredients to put the liquids in, then poured the water over the top and mixed it all up right in the pan. This is *the* chocolate cake! Love it! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I needed a non dairy, non-egg cake recipe. I found this one and went further by using a combination of non-wheat flours, sucanat and agave instead of white cane sugar and the result was fantastic. I have made this "birthday" cake for 40 plus children and teachers every year for three years and will be making it again! Thnaks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe is fine as it is. However, I always use a mixing bowl, then pour it into a Pam sprayed baking dish. For a mocha flavor, use cold coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I just made this today. The recipe didn't talk about sifting the flour, but I did anyways...In hoping that my cake will rise higher. The cake turned out beautiful! It was soft, moist, big, and delicious (even when I halved the recipe)! I used a LITTLE less sugar (for my personal preference). IT'S MY FIRST TIME MAKING CHOCOLATE CAKE FROM SCRATCH, AND I SUCCEEDED BIG TIME!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i've been using this recipe for quite a while now and i *love* it! it's my go-to recipe for a quick and easy vegan treat. and the ingredients are staples! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This recipe is okay as is (especially if for kids and with filling or frosting)--but it would be rated higher with the following changes: increase the amount of cocoa to 1 cup, and use two teaspoons of vanilla or add a teaspoon of chocolate extract. SIFT the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix them with the wet ingredients before adding to a prepared pan--if you sift the dry, it will help the leavening be more uniform than mixing in the pan. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just made this cake, and it tastes pretty good. I used 1 cup of cocoa as others suggestions. Also, I halved the cake, spread it w/ strawberry jam. And top the cake w/ cream cheese frosting w/ pecan. It was good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My mom makes a version of this cake. I love it because I almost always have all the ingredients on hand. I mixed the dry ingredients together, then added all the liquids and mixed. Then I poured it into a greased pan. I baked it for a little longer than the recipe suggests, maybe an extra 10 or 15 minutes. It turned out chocolatey and substantial--not airy. Next time I'll cut the sugar, maybe as much as by half. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Merritt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I Made this for a surprise 90 birthday . It was gone in 10 minutes and everybody wanted the recipe. I told them where I got it. It gets five stars from me. Simple to prepare. delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent cake, though I did just pour all the ingredients together in a bowl and mix it like you would a traditional cake (without all the wells separating ingredients etc) -- and it was very good. Didn't use frosting of any sort, ate it plain and it was very similar to a brownie-taste -- just in a lighter fluffier cake format. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States