Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I love this cake, My great grandmother used to make this for me every year for my birthday with a boiled frosting on it! Oh the memories, and it has become a favorite among my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I had to bake something for my class, and since turning vegan it makes it hard to bake. I tried this recipe and i am literally in love. SUCH A GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I was very surprised at how great this recipe turned out. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Need to find my other crazy cake recipe as this one needs some fine-tuning (the vinegar is NOT the issue, for those put off by the vinegar). 1) I will NEVER make a cake in a 9x13 pan again. Very hard to mix well/evenly and even stirring gently, I sent powder everywhere, creating a bigger mess than simply washing a separate bowl. 2) I used a high quality cocoa (AND replaced one cup of water with coffee as I always do with my chocolate cakes) and this still was barely chocolatey. Definitely needed more cocoa, although a moderate choc fan might have been satisfied. 3) This was not the fault of the recipe, but just a comment: My cake went from not done to nearly burnt very fast, so watch it closely the last five minutes. 4) Texture was good -- a wee bit oily, but probably needed that to come out of pan. Very moist & rose well. My biggest issue was the lack of chocolate taste and the one-bowl method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this cake for my nan as she cannot eat dairy - I actually added two eggs and an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa, as I wanted it to be a bit more indulgent. I turned out really well, especially as I sprinkled chopped roasted hazelnuts on top before cooking. The batter was really huge - I ended up using an 11" round tin which was perfect. Will make it again, it has a lovely pudding-like taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fambeldavs
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I Wow!!!!! This was so good. Moist rich -it's hard to believe there's no eggs. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Too delicious! I'd never heard of this cake before but I'm glad I stumbled across it. Will go into my regular cake rotation. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rtambo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Easy to make! Made it with my one and three year old boys and both helped. Wasn't too sure about how it would turn out because of the ingredients and the way it's made, but it's a great tasting cake and very moist too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Very moist, very easy cake, tastes excellent. I used melted canola spread for veg oil since I didnt have veg oil. Thanks a l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loretta's Recipe Journal
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I used 1 1/2 cup of sugar but added 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Also my recipe called for warmed water. I gave it 5 stars because of the easy preparation, nice taste, quick clean up and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta's Recipe Journal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States