Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The note about it being popular during the depression makes sense. My grandparents were married 2 days before the stock market crashed in 1929. We have loved this cake for all family gatherings. I have been trying modified versions with oils and vinegars that are fruit infused, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Nice and moist like most vegan baked goods are. Super easy too, my 7yo made it with only some help from me (mostly the oven). Doesn't need frosting. It's kinda like a cake brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This cake is so easy, delicious and versatile! We don't have any allergies & we're not on any special diets and this is still a cake we will make over and over again! This chocolate one is wonderful and you can sub cold coffee for the water for a more intense chocolate flavor. I've made a vanilla version by subbing extra flour in place of the cocoa powder and throwing in a little extra vanilla extract. The orange one is AMAZING!!! You sub extra flour for the cocoa powder in the recipe, orange juice for the water and add the zest of one large orange to the batter. Topped with whipped cream or an orange glaze -WOW! I've seen lemon and spice versions as well and I can't wait to try them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We call this puddle cake because of the puddles formed by pouring the liquids into the wells in the dry ingredients, it's been in the family for generations! We sometimes sift some powdered sugar over it instead of frosting it, and sometimes eat it out of a bowl with milk poured on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Good base recipe. Note to self... do not use peanut oil (which is what I had in the house) since it gives it a peanut buttery smell to the recipe. I substituted sugar for maple syrup since I didn't have any at home. Even with the changes it turned out really good. ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have been searching and searching for a yummy cake recipie with no dairy and this recipie is by far the best it is so yummy and good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious, easy, soft/fluffy, chocolatey, AMAZING! Can't even tell there is no egg or milk in it. Will definitely make again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was phenomenal!! I especially loved how moist it was! Great cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for chocolate cake. My family and I enjoyed this cake!!! My elderly grandmother said this reminded her of her grandmother homemade cake. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe. Oh, and the vinegar isn't detected at all, only needed to make cake rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Actually my favorite chocolate cake recipe! Always turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States