Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this exactly as written, except that I mixed it in a bowl so I could make 2 round layers. I used 2 - 9" pans, and they overflowed the pans, making a huge mess in my oven, then fell. I managed to salvage them, but they were kind of thin layers, which I filled and covered with "White Frosting" from this website. The texture of the cake was good, all things considered, but I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Freeman-Bauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The first time we made this recipe as is and it was delicious but a giant pain to get out of the pan. We lost half the cake to sticky pan syndrome :) We have since tried it a few more times and so far our favorite enhancements are to use 2 cups of brewed cold vanilla or hazelnut coffee instead of water and toss in a handful of chocolate or peanut butter chips. We also mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the wet. This allows us to grease the pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have been looking for this recipe since I was 8 years old. My mother had me make this all the time when I was a kid. I never thought I would find it by name, "Crazy Cake"; lo and behold, there it was! Unusual ingredients, but always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've had better chocolate cakes, but for its simplicity and versatility, this one's a keeper. We don't eat a lot of eggs in our house, so we almost never have them on hand; this recipe's great for when we want cake but don't want to make a special trip to the grocery store. I followed one reviewer's advice and cut out the cocoa and replaced the water with an orange-mango juice blend, and it was very good! I've made three variations already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is my family's favorite cake!! I have made it for years as well as my mother and grandmother. In addition to chocolate chips, I have also made this recipe by omitting the oil and adding a can of cherry pie filling. I also place plastic wrap or tin foil over the pan soon after taking it out of the oven and allow it to cool covered. By doing this, it makes a "fudge-like" topping on its own! As always, we top each piece with whipped topping! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Finally, a great chocolate cake recipe, wow and it does not need eggs!!!!! Found my fav recipe. This cake tastes better the next day too, mmmmm so moust, delicious and chocolatey. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I made this for Thanksgiving, and the cake was gone in an hour! I did make a couple of changes, but only because of a lack of ingredients or extras laying around. Instead of using white sugar, I used light brown sugar (same amount). And since I didn't have any vinegar on hand, I found that four tablespoons of orange juice will suffice. And last but not least, I added a big handful of chocolate chips to the batter, and was finding little gooey bits in the cake the whole time I ate it :). The batter is thick, almost like you're making brownies. Don't bother too much about the wells, it's alright if something overflows. I used a 9x13 pan (don't forget to grease and flour it lightly). Don't worry about it being thin either, the finished product has a nice thickness to it! For me, I could see the cake was done when the top started cracking a bit. Remember, if using the toothpick test, you don't want the cake to be stone dry. This cake needs no frosting; it can be eaten on its own. But for presentation's sake, I dusted it with powdered sugar after giving up on trying to make butter-less frosting. If you break a little bit of the cracked top off the top of the cake after it comes out of the oven, it tastes just like a chocolate poptart. The cake was thick, and gooey, and delicious. Hope I helped. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TPMMLtd
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have used this recipe exclusively -- modified only for the pan sizes I've used -- since 1965. Everyone says the recipe product is FANTASTIC !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is the moistest cake I have ever made!!! The first time I made it I didn't frost it and it was gone before the end of the day. I also like to microwave a little hot fudge and pour it over the top just before serving.....also great with ice cream. I mixed everything in a bowl and then poured into pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
this is really good. I made for years it has been in our grandmothers home cook book. she added nuts and raisens to hers and some times if she didn't have pumpkin on hand she replaced it with squash . I personally like it better with squash because we grow more squash so I can my own and it is easier to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States