Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
this is really good. I made for years it has been in our grandmothers home cook book. she added nuts and raisens to hers and some times if she didn't have pumpkin on hand she replaced it with squash . I personally like it better with squash because we grow more squash so I can my own and it is easier to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was an amazing cake. Very moist and simple to make. Mine was a bit dry but I am thinking it is my oven with the issue as it seems everything I cook lately is either over done or underdone in the suggested time. I will be making this again and often as I always have these ingredients on hand but don't always have eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
A deliciously moist cake we didn't even put icing on because it's great all by itself. My family raves about it & it's gone in a snap, I feel guilty to accept all the compliments because it's so easy & you don't even dirty a bowl or beaters to make it (or even grease the pan). Easier than a box mix...maybe it should be called Lazy Cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it for the first time today came out great. Very delicious, not overly sweet and very easy.Its one for the books, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is the most versatile cake recipe in the world. I use it for every kind of cake. I'm writing this review waiting for apple cinnamon cupcakes made using this base (minus the cocoa). Try subbing 3/4 cup of brown sugar for 1 cup of the white, 1 cup of sweet apple cider for 1 cup of the water, adding 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp each ground ginger and clove and 3/4 cup dried currants. Fill the muffin cup (lined) halfway, add a tsp of apple pie filling, then put a tbsp of batter on top. Bake at 350 until they're done (I time nothing, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved the moist texture of this cake,and I can tell it would be amazing if I had been a slightly more experienced cook. I followed one reviewers suggestion to make the orange cake by substituting cornstarch for cocoa and orange juice for water. Well a 1/2 cup of cornstarch was awful in this. Texture was great, but flavor had horrid aftertaste. Follow the reviewer who suggested substituting flour for cocoa, not cornstarch. Apparently cornstarch is meant to be used in small amounts.......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This cake is great as is but if you decide to make it with Gluten Free Flour it comes out even better tasting, like a flourless cake so then its Egg Free, Dairy Free, and gluten free but tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is the only cake I make. I substitute water for coffee though. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake since I was a child - my grandma helped me the first time, a great memory for me. I love to substitute cold coffee for the water - wonderful flavor enhancer - try it! VERY moist cake, we usually do not frost this as it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Not only is it my favorite chocolate cake, it's incredibly simple AND vegan! I can't give it enough stars. The only modification I ever do is sometimes I add chocolate morsels, but the cake is really great even without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States