Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Great cake! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this! It's my go to cake recipe now! I've made it several times and also in cake pops and cupcakes. It's my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
My grandma used to make this cake but called it Hard Times Cake - a depression era recipe. Love that it doesn't taste as sweet as other cakes. Great with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonalikj
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
this is my go to recipe for an eggless chocolate cake.Easy to make and tastes great on its own as well.Have made this many times and it has never failed me.I always add 1 tspn of instant coffee powder to bring out the chocolate flavour.Also,adding chocolate chips to it is great.U cant taste the vinegar at all in the cake.In fact,my friends were surprised when I told them this was an eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Intention 8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneM
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I really love this recipe! I had to try it, after tasting it at a friend's child's birthday party. With so many of our friends' children having egg allergies and having some vegan friends, too, this recipe is perfect. Even my egg-loving dad says the cakes come out tasting very good. After reading other reviews, I've made the following adjustments: Chocolate (original) version: I subbed cooled coffee for the water, which gave it a richer flavor. Vanilla GF version: I replaced the amounts of the AP flour and cocoa powder in the recipe with GF flour, and doubled the amount of vanilla extract. My hubby actually preferred this over the original, with and without frosting. Orange version: For the recipe halved (9 servings), I replaced 2/3 of water with OJ and, added the zest of 1 large orange, and subbed orange extract for the vanilla. I baked it in a Wilton giant cupcake pan for closer to 50 min. My mom thought it was too sweet, but my dad and 3yo chocoholic son loved it. I might have to reduce the amount of OJ, or do only fresh-squeezed next time. It doesn't even need frosting. I usually do one small cake for my children to blow out the candles, and the rest are cupcakes. The cupcakes usually take as long as the box mix versions do. I will be making the original and vanilla versions for my daughter's first birthday party next week. I'm so glad my friend referred this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
my family loves this cake even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik&Geo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My great grandmother made Crazy Cake often. She raised a family in the great depression and it never occurred to me that she made this cake because eggs were hard to come by at that time. So happy to find this recipe. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have made this cake many times and we love it! I use cold coffee instead of the water but that is the only change I make. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is absolutely my favorite chocolate cake recipe! I've made it at least ten times in the past year.. for friends, family, and colleagues. It always gets rave reviews and requests for more! (No one believes that it is made without eggs.) I slightly decrease the sugar, add instant coffee to the water and chocolate chips (per some suggestions in other reviews).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States