Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake since I was a child - my grandma helped me the first time, a great memory for me. I love to substitute cold coffee for the water - wonderful flavor enhancer - try it! VERY moist cake, we usually do not frost this as it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Not only is it my favorite chocolate cake, it's incredibly simple AND vegan! I can't give it enough stars. The only modification I ever do is sometimes I add chocolate morsels, but the cake is really great even without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My nephew has an egg allergy. I was looking for a dessert for him. This cake was a perfect fit!! I was totally surprised by how moist and fluffy the cake turned out. I have looked for several years for a cake recipe better than the box cakes. This is it. The only thing I did different from the original recipe was I had to use two different cocoas. One was special dark and the other original Hershey's cocoa. I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wow! I made this two days in a row. First I made one as a bunt cake for a potluck (dusted with powdered sugar). The next day I made it as a half sheet cake for a birthday party. Everyone was amazed when I told them it was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never made an egg-free cake so I tried this one. It was simple to make and quite delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
One of the easiest cakes I've ever made and turned out well, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Had friends over last night and needed a good easy desert. We all really enjoyed this...very good & very easy. I put peanut butter chips in at the last minute on a whim and it was great. Followed the recipe except I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I never use oil, but applesauce instead. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The note about it being popular during the depression makes sense. My grandparents were married 2 days before the stock market crashed in 1929. We have loved this cake for all family gatherings. I have been trying modified versions with oils and vinegars that are fruit infused, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Nice and moist like most vegan baked goods are. Super easy too, my 7yo made it with only some help from me (mostly the oven). Doesn't need frosting. It's kinda like a cake brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This cake is so easy, delicious and versatile! We don't have any allergies & we're not on any special diets and this is still a cake we will make over and over again! This chocolate one is wonderful and you can sub cold coffee for the water for a more intense chocolate flavor. I've made a vanilla version by subbing extra flour in place of the cocoa powder and throwing in a little extra vanilla extract. The orange one is AMAZING!!! You sub extra flour for the cocoa powder in the recipe, orange juice for the water and add the zest of one large orange to the batter. Topped with whipped cream or an orange glaze -WOW! I've seen lemon and spice versions as well and I can't wait to try them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States