Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Not a chocolate cake lover, but I do LOVE this chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
This was a real disappointment for me. :( The texture was strange and the flavor was not good. My kids spit it out after 1 bite. I am a from-scratch baker and followed the instructions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Finally, a scratch made cake recipe that didn't fail me! Traditionally I have not had good luck with cakes, but this one turned out perfectly. I wanted to make a spice cake so I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 0.5 tsp nutmeg, and 0.25 tsp cloves in place of the cocoa powder in this recipe. All else was the same. It turned out beautifully! I couldn't find my 9x13 pan, so I used a Bundt pan, and it baked in around 55-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Alex O.
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
This cake is amazing!! I have an allergy to egg and I found this recipe to be very helpful! It tastes wonderful! I did have to adjust a few things though. I made the cake vanilla because I also have an allergy to chocolate so I added corn starch instead of cocoa powder and put extra vanilla. I was a little critical at first because of the thick texture of the batter, but it was hands down one of the tastiest cakes I've ever made/ had! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This is the cake my mother made all the time with a thick fudgy icing. It's the one cake I didn't get the recipe for, but I recognize it all the same. The cake is fudgy and dark and delicious. If it's too sweet, swap out some of the sugar for a sugar substitute. This cake was a favorite at all our annual family reunions and where Mom got the recipe. Enjoy it. It's a chocolate lover's fantasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jm Cornwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Great cake and so easy to make. Doesn't even need icing and so so so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I have made this cake for over 30 years my son loves it with no frosting.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Herron Tate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe. Personally, coming from a vegetarian perspective, this was one of the best chocolate cakes ever. Like most people, I (at first) worried that the vinegar would make the cake taste sour but when I tasted the batter I was surprised by the rich flavor. I would rate this ten stars if I could! I am famous for this recipe and get asked to make it all the time. Overall, I would recommend this to all chocolate cake lovers out there. I like to serve it with icing sugar on top. When you put frosting on it, it still tastes good but doesn't have the same luxurious taste that it does with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Amazing. Have made it several times and it's worked great. Couple of tips. 1) use ice cold water. if you remember your chemistry classes, the colder the water, the slower the baking soda + vinegar reaction will be. And you want as much reaction happening AFTER you put the cake in the oven, not before. 2) Mix (sift) the dry ingredients together in 1 bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in another bowl (or measuring cup). DO NOT mix the wet and dry ingredients together until everything else is ready (oven hot, pan greased, etc). 3) If you are having trouble getting the cake out of the pan, throw the entire pan + cake in the freezer overnight. That will prevent the cake from tearing when you take it out. I found the cake easier to frost when semi-frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saaraa luvs anthony
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
i made this cake bc it looked easy. i used 1/2 cup of veg oil, 1 cup of sugar and i couldn't find my van extract. i made peanut butter frosting and wow.... what a hit im sooo glad.. i used less sugar and oil... definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States