Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I agree that this was "Crazy," easy and fun to make and turned out moist but like the other few critics, I feel the chocolate level is far too low, even after substituting some water with coffee. I would recommend at least doubling the cocoa in future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My mom (who grew up during the Depression) made this all the time when I was a child in the 1950s and 1960s. She made a smaller version (same ingredients) that she baked in an 8-inch square pan. We called it "Funny Cake." It's definitely a winner--and great for those with egg or dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a simple ingredient good cake. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My mom used to make this cake all the time. She did come from the depression era, too. I like sweet chocolate cake and this one's for me! Add some red food coloring and you have a Red Velvet Cake... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This vegan cake is better than most box mixes. However it lacks the depth of flavor that butter and eggs usually provide in a home-made cake. After the first time I made it I've compensated by doubling the vanilla and cocoa, and this is now a favorite around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My "go to" chocolate cake. It's easier and tastier than a boxed cake mix! I like to make cupcakes with it and pipe on any kind of frosting -- buttercream, chocolate buttercream, or peanut butter frosting. But this cake is delicious even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolalita
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The cake is VERY moist! The vegetable oil makes it super soft to the touch, though it nice, next time I might reduce the oil to 1/2 cup or 2/3 cup instead. It's hardly sweet, so it's okay to eat a big piece ;-). I made a white chocolate topping (though not perfect because I poured it very hot), it was still good. Topping recipe (1 cup (chocolate) chips (I used white), 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 tablespoons of butter, now melt in microwave. Once combined, add 1cup of powered sugar, mix well till incorporated, let cool off a little bit, then spread before it thickens too much. Enjoy!) I added red food coloring to one with sprinkles and other just pecans on top. I made this cake twice, I followed a reviewers advise to add strawberry jello and strawberries (chopped or puréed) and that was the biggest mistake ever!!! Leave the recipe as is, please, unless u like mushy-baby-food-like-cake, yuck, I can chew thank you. Anyway, beware it doesn't work. I was going to post a pick of it in the trash but decided against it. This recipe is easy and quick as is, especially when you run out if eggs & milk at home, but want dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This recipe is the absolute best. My younger son is allergic to eggs so I've been trying different recipes . This one was a winner ! I've made it quite a few times. I altered it a bit though...I added 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips, a handful of cranberries and I also added 4 tsp of baking powder( I found it strange that the recipe didn't call for it so I've never tried it without ). The chocolate chips melted n the cranberries added a pleasant burst of flavor. On the last occasion I substituted melted butter /margarine for the oil. I found that the texture was superb. Think I'm gonna stick to that one. In any event, This ones a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I love this cake, My great grandmother used to make this for me every year for my birthday with a boiled frosting on it! Oh the memories, and it has become a favorite among my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I had to bake something for my class, and since turning vegan it makes it hard to bake. I tried this recipe and i am literally in love. SUCH A GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States