Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was phenomenal!! I especially loved how moist it was! Great cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for chocolate cake. My family and I enjoyed this cake!!! My elderly grandmother said this reminded her of her grandmother homemade cake. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe. Oh, and the vinegar isn't detected at all, only needed to make cake rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Actually my favorite chocolate cake recipe! Always turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I got this recipe from my Grandmother, and she's been gone since the 70s. It has been in our family for so many years. This is the best cake on earth and the easiest to make. I've passed it down to our kids and our grandkids. Everyone just loves it. And being egg free is great. A lot of people can't have them. This really does deserve 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is SO good! It is moist an flavorful. I make this every chance I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I am very thankful to have this recipe because I was able to make cupcakes in a way that all of the food allergies in our family were taken care of. It is still very sticky, but here is what I did that may help others. **note: I needed it to be dairy, soy, gluten, egg, and nut free. I used gluten free flour (a blend that works nicely in baked goods), I used applesauce in place of the oil, and I added allergy-free chocolate chips. They have a very good flavor. They are very moist. Since I did cupcakes, the sticking was the big issue. The first batch stuck really bad to the papers, making them difficult to eat. So I ditched the papers and used olive oil on a paper town to greese the wells thoroughly. They slid right out! I then placed them each in a paper for presentation and ease of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
a neighbor gave me this exact recipe years ago and I have taken it to so many functions and always have to give out the recipe each time, as someone always asks for it. It is so easy to whip up, great if you don't have eggs, or are vegan. I always do mine in a bundt pan so I don't make the 3 wells. I do always add the vinegar last. so super moist. a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this as cupcakes - a half recipe makes 12, baked about 22 minutes. I wanted them with no frosting for a change, so to get some sweet and creamy chocolate richness without it I threw in a half cup of mini chocolate chips. If you don’t have eggs and you’re looking for a good, moist chocolate cake that’s neither too dark nor too light and not too sweet, so that it can support a sweet, rich butterceam frosting or none at all, that rises nicely, creating perfect cupcakes (in my case), then make this cake. If you DO have eggs and you want a cake like this, make this cake. Note: I did have eggs. I just think today's a crazy day which is why I chose this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I grew up eating this cake and I love it. I would ask for it every year the only thing I notice is that the timeing is wrong it can take an hour to an hour and 15 min to back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My mom has been making this cake since I was very young, and still, it is my go-to EASY recipe for a dense, moist chocolate cake. I frost it with a decorator icing with almond flavoring... If you REALLY want a decadent treat, drizzle some chocolate ganache on top and let it set. Yumm-0h! Oh, and if you want fat free, substitute apple sauce for the oil. If you want less sugar, just put half the sugar in it. It really is a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIDI402

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States