Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is the only cake I make. I substitute water for coffee though. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake since I was a child - my grandma helped me the first time, a great memory for me. I love to substitute cold coffee for the water - wonderful flavor enhancer - try it! VERY moist cake, we usually do not frost this as it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Not only is it my favorite chocolate cake, it's incredibly simple AND vegan! I can't give it enough stars. The only modification I ever do is sometimes I add chocolate morsels, but the cake is really great even without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My nephew has an egg allergy. I was looking for a dessert for him. This cake was a perfect fit!! I was totally surprised by how moist and fluffy the cake turned out. I have looked for several years for a cake recipe better than the box cakes. This is it. The only thing I did different from the original recipe was I had to use two different cocoas. One was special dark and the other original Hershey's cocoa. I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wow! I made this two days in a row. First I made one as a bunt cake for a potluck (dusted with powdered sugar). The next day I made it as a half sheet cake for a birthday party. Everyone was amazed when I told them it was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never made an egg-free cake so I tried this one. It was simple to make and quite delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
One of the easiest cakes I've ever made and turned out well, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Had friends over last night and needed a good easy desert. We all really enjoyed this...very good & very easy. I put peanut butter chips in at the last minute on a whim and it was great. Followed the recipe except I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I never use oil, but applesauce instead. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The note about it being popular during the depression makes sense. My grandparents were married 2 days before the stock market crashed in 1929. We have loved this cake for all family gatherings. I have been trying modified versions with oils and vinegars that are fruit infused, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Nice and moist like most vegan baked goods are. Super easy too, my 7yo made it with only some help from me (mostly the oven). Doesn't need frosting. It's kinda like a cake brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 71-80 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States