Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake. My mom has made this cake since I was about 5 years old and this is the only chocolate cake my brothers and I wanted her to make. Super-duper easy and absolutely delicious. Even as a grown woman I still ask her to make it. Just one bite brings me back to my wonderful childhood and moms great chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stamatovich
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday, since her best friend has an egg allergy. I was nervous about it, but it turned out great! I subbed in a cup of cold coffee for one cup of water, and I also made it in a mixing bowl and baked it in two 9" round pans so we could have a layer cake. It has wonderful flavor and is very moist and delicious. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is the chocolate cake recipe I learned to bake on! It makes me happy to find it here! We called it Whacky Cake and got the recipe from a family friend! It is literally the first cake I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed the directions exactly and what I ended up with will make you slap yo' mama. I made a vanilla butter cream frosting to go with it and tried very hard to wait for my kids to get home from school before trying it, but to no avail. I caved when it was still piping hot. Buttercream frosting: 1/3 cup margarine, 2 tsp real vanilla extract, 2.5 C powdered sugar, 2 tb sweetened condensed milk. Beat the margarine (yes margarine, not butter) and sugar til creamy, add the rest and beat for a min. YUM. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsfoolery74
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best chocolate cake I've ever made! It's very easy to make and clean up is simple. The first time I made it I cut it up in small squares and used it in a trifle with homemade vanilla pudding, and dark sweet cherries! It was delicious! Going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This recipe was amazing. Very very very moist. I didn't know a cake could be this moist. I also tweaked to by adding a cream cheese filling inside the batter marbled mixed. The chocolate flavor was very dark. Just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this exactly as written, except that I mixed it in a bowl so I could make 2 round layers. I used 2 - 9" pans, and they overflowed the pans, making a huge mess in my oven, then fell. I managed to salvage them, but they were kind of thin layers, which I filled and covered with "White Frosting" from this website. The texture of the cake was good, all things considered, but I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Freeman-Bauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The first time we made this recipe as is and it was delicious but a giant pain to get out of the pan. We lost half the cake to sticky pan syndrome :) We have since tried it a few more times and so far our favorite enhancements are to use 2 cups of brewed cold vanilla or hazelnut coffee instead of water and toss in a handful of chocolate or peanut butter chips. We also mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the wet. This allows us to grease the pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have been looking for this recipe since I was 8 years old. My mother had me make this all the time when I was a kid. I never thought I would find it by name, "Crazy Cake"; lo and behold, there it was! Unusual ingredients, but always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've had better chocolate cakes, but for its simplicity and versatility, this one's a keeper. We don't eat a lot of eggs in our house, so we almost never have them on hand; this recipe's great for when we want cake but don't want to make a special trip to the grocery store. I followed one reviewer's advice and cut out the cocoa and replaced the water with an orange-mango juice blend, and it was very good! I've made three variations already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States