Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This cake is great as is but if you decide to make it with Gluten Free Flour it comes out even better tasting, like a flourless cake so then its Egg Free, Dairy Free, and gluten free but tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is the only cake I make. I substitute water for coffee though. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake since I was a child - my grandma helped me the first time, a great memory for me. I love to substitute cold coffee for the water - wonderful flavor enhancer - try it! VERY moist cake, we usually do not frost this as it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Not only is it my favorite chocolate cake, it's incredibly simple AND vegan! I can't give it enough stars. The only modification I ever do is sometimes I add chocolate morsels, but the cake is really great even without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My nephew has an egg allergy. I was looking for a dessert for him. This cake was a perfect fit!! I was totally surprised by how moist and fluffy the cake turned out. I have looked for several years for a cake recipe better than the box cakes. This is it. The only thing I did different from the original recipe was I had to use two different cocoas. One was special dark and the other original Hershey's cocoa. I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wow! I made this two days in a row. First I made one as a bunt cake for a potluck (dusted with powdered sugar). The next day I made it as a half sheet cake for a birthday party. Everyone was amazed when I told them it was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never made an egg-free cake so I tried this one. It was simple to make and quite delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
One of the easiest cakes I've ever made and turned out well, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Had friends over last night and needed a good easy desert. We all really enjoyed this...very good & very easy. I put peanut butter chips in at the last minute on a whim and it was great. Followed the recipe except I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I never use oil, but applesauce instead. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The note about it being popular during the depression makes sense. My grandparents were married 2 days before the stock market crashed in 1929. We have loved this cake for all family gatherings. I have been trying modified versions with oils and vinegars that are fruit infused, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States