Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made with cold coffee & it was GREAT! Then made as is and still great! Love it, reminds me of the cakes I ate as a child. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I learned to make this cake over 20 years ago in home ec class in 8th grade and it has been a favorite since. I make it into cupcakes or cakes all the time. I haven't met a person who doesn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was not the moist cake I expected. Even the addition of a thick fudge frosting didn't help. My husband asked not to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Man, I wish I'd made this cake for my wedding instead of the bakery one we did! One of the best, easiest, most wonderfully moist chocolate cakes I've ever had. Even the strange preparation of mixing it in the pan... Easy. Only change was before baking, I added some chocolate chips. Amazing. My go-to cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have now made this twice, and both times it was delicious and very moist. Lots of compliments, stacked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is the families all time favorite cake ever. I follow the recipe but sometimes I will add 1/2 tsp almond flavor along with the vanilla (try it u will love it). Also, I frost with a fudge frosting that is awesome (I also add a little almond flavor to the frosting too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Mcnire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
i have been making this cake for over 40 years. it's a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have several severe allergies, eggs being one of them...I keep trying to find good cake/cupcake recipes, but with no luck! After reading the reviews of this one, I decided to give it a try and it turned out perfectly! My family (none of them have allergies) says it tastes identical to regular chocolate cake with eggs, they can't stop eating it! I baked at 350 as the recipe says for 36 minutes. It's even better the next few days! Thank you so much to whoever submitted this recipe, you've finally allowed me to enjoy cake after all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It just seemed kind of dull. It's easy enough to make and it looks just fine, but it didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I feel the chocolate level is far too low, even after substituting some water with coffee. I would recommend at least doubling the cocoa in future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States