Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We did this cake when I was young, but to add to the craziness, mama would chunk it up, put it in a big bowl, make a pan of runny chocolatey peanut fudge frosting, pour that over it, and add whatever dried fruit she had soaked up, put it in a big dish that looked like a flower pot, made sure the frosting was soaked up into the cake so it looked really messy then took our homemade gumdrops and rolled them into little cylinders, so they looked like worms and called the ' mess' our garden cake. Made the cake go a lot further, and I used it when I was raising my two girls alone. I think about that flower pot cake, every time I pass a package of gummy worms, to this day, and I am past 85.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I love love LOVE Crazy Cake. Its simple, with so few ingredients, and also vegan friendly! This cake is absolutely perfect, the same way my mother made this cake! I have my wedding coming up in October, so a search for a vegan friendly recipe for our cake was a must for family members who are attending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I used to make this exact recipe as a child and it was always so much fun! I remember making up excuses to convince my parents to let me make another! So excited to find the recipe again after so many years. I intend to make it for my vegan friend sometime very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
sorry i hve to say if you make this cake if you are really vegan and desperate for a chocolate hype! I agree..flavoured flour! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I never review anything. But I am so delighted to have found such a great cake without eggs. My daughter has an egg allergy and she gets so bummed when she can't have cake at birthdays. Not only is this eggless, but it's really, really good cake. not too sweet, but really chocolatey. Made as written except didn't mix in pan and added mini choc chips. excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This cake was delicious!! Super easy and a big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My mom used to make this when I was little. I wanted to make this into a double layer cake, but I knew that the preparation of this cake was important for the finished product. So essentially I made two cakes in two cake pans. It came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
VERY yummy and VERY easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My vegan friends love this! Thanks! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This cake turned out moist and chocolaty. I have used cake mixes most of my life, and this is as good or better. This is my new go to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States