Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Made this for a football party & everyone loved it. I made mine in a bowl & poured it into a greased pan. Made a cooked chocolate frosting & poured it over while cake & frosting both were still warm. It is heavier/different than the average cake & very moist. This is a keeper, thank you very much. Highly recommend you try this for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Awesome cake, and since there are no eggs, you can taste the batter. I know this as Wacky Chocolate Cake and have been making it for years. I usually use half the ingredients and bake it in an 8 X 8 square pyrex pan for about 30 minutes. I sometimes sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top instead of frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very easy to make, went directly by the recipe, it was very moist, and my husband loved it.. he said it is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have been making this cake for years and it is my go to recipe for a fast and yummy treat! I love how its not a real sweet cake but sweet enought to satisfy those cravings. And what could be better than a cake that's made in the pan it cooks in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I've used this recipe for a very long time! My grandmother gave me the recipe for my cooking class back in high school and it managed to win our bake off. Even managed to beat out a fabulous Turtle chocolate cake! The version I use is usually halved but it is still an amazing recipe that has become one of my specialties. I've used it for just about every holiday there is! This recipe also makes REALLY good cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I have been making this cake for years. It's what everyone expects from me for chocolate cake. The favorite seems to be for me to bake the cake and while it's still hot sprinkle about a cup or so of semi sweet chocolate chips on it. When they get soft I spread them around. I also love it it with brown sugar icing or 7 minute icing. But the chocolate chips always win with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great cake recipe! I’ve been using this one for every holiday or family party I’ve gone to for the last year. I was looking for something my nephew (who is 4 and allergic to nuts, soy and milk) could have. I changed the oil to canola and everything else was good to go. He loved it and was glad he could have cake again. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The best chocolate cake I've ever made from scratch. My husband is really picky, and rarely eats sweets, but he loved this cake. You can't tell that there's no egg or milk, and the chocolate flavor is perfect. I made this while waiting for Irene to hit us and it made for a nice treat during the days after when we were without power and bored. I made a chocolate glaze to ice it with and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a great cake. I made it in a 9'13 pan, but it fell. I made it in a bundt pan and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookandBakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My mother made this cake for us when we were kids (over50 years ago.) it tasted great then ana still does. Goes best with vanilla icecream. :) Five stars definately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States