Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
dont know it was good but a little bland.. maybe i added too much vanilla or ill try layering with something else overall tho this is a great base for a cake and ill admit the batter tasted better than the finish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I added milk chocolate chips as another reviewer suggested. I just sprinkled them on top before baking. I think it increased the chocolate flavor and sweetness of the cake. I also used bread flour per another suggestion. I don't know if this made the cake more moist as the reviewer said it would. The cake turned out very moist whether from the bread flour or just the recipe as a whole. For the topping, I spread some sweetened condensed milk on the cake followed by whipped cream and crushed oreos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I wasn't too sure about the whte vinegar, but wow! Very nice and moist, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My daughter made it and rates it poor. It stuck to pan, tasted oily and had coarse texture. Also not chocolatey enough! Will stick to other recipes. She followed it very carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This cake was amazing. It held its shape well, was dense and while not moist, not terrible dry either. It lacked a good chocolately flavor, but I rolled out a can of almond paste and topped it all with tart cherry spread. Heaven. Pure, simple heaven. Will continue making this for all my cake needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This recipe has been around for decades, for good reason - it is cheap and easy to make and absolutely delicous! My mother made it year round, but at Christmas instead of frosting it she served it with real whipped cream flavored with kirsch, chopped nuts and cherries. This recipe is one everyone cook should have in their arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipe has been around for generations, known as Whacky Cake. My grandmother made it back during the depression, when eggs were prohibitively expensive. It was a favorite of y family's and my children, for birthday cakes. Still a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was the first cake my Mom taught me to make at about age 12. I am 56! You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Made this for a football party & everyone loved it. I made mine in a bowl & poured it into a greased pan. Made a cooked chocolate frosting & poured it over while cake & frosting both were still warm. It is heavier/different than the average cake & very moist. This is a keeper, thank you very much. Highly recommend you try this for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Awesome cake, and since there are no eggs, you can taste the batter. I know this as Wacky Chocolate Cake and have been making it for years. I usually use half the ingredients and bake it in an 8 X 8 square pyrex pan for about 30 minutes. I sometimes sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top instead of frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States