Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years. You can also substitute the oil for applesauce for a denser sweeter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Best cake ever! I grew up on this cake, my granny having lived thru the depression, would make this all the time! I hate all other chocolate cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a solid recipe. I just baked this one, and is cooling on my living room table. This is quite a soft cake without any eggs. This has to be because of the oil, baking soda, and vinegar. I followed the ingredient list exactly and instructions. The flavor is quite good, although, I felt it was not chocolately enough with 1/2 cup of cocoa. It very well could be the powder im using, but I dont think so. This is a solid cake recipe. One thing to note, when making, when you add the liquid, and start mixing it will seem pretty liquid like. After some time, it will thicken up turning into the consistency of a normal cake batter. Dont worry if it seems too wet at the beginning of the mix process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
My favorite chocolate cake and very easy and fast to make. Tastes really good with Buttercream Icing. I use this recipe - Mom's Buttercream Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Modified it to make it a real dark-choc treat: Upped cocoa powder so that it was about 1/2 the amount of sugar. I also reduced the amount of flour a smidge to make up for the dryness of the cocoa. Finally, I used strong coffee to highlight the choc flavour instead of water. I mixed it all with an electric mixer to make everything easier. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Pretty good, but did taste like it was missing something. Happily, using apple cider vinegar worked just as well as white distilled vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great for kids that have egg / dairy allergies. Moist and delicious. I use this recipe to make cupcakes for all of my kids school events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is a great cake, easy. We always have the ingredients too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My mother made this cake for years in a 9x13 pan, then she frosted it with two types of frosting - a white frosting that was very butter & a thin chocolate frosting almost like a glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gullickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I love this cake! Super easy and stays very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States