Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe. Personally, coming from a vegetarian perspective, this was one of the best chocolate cakes ever. Like most people, I (at first) worried that the vinegar would make the cake taste sour but when I tasted the batter I was surprised by the rich flavor. I would rate this ten stars if I could! I am famous for this recipe and get asked to make it all the time. Overall, I would recommend this to all chocolate cake lovers out there. I like to serve it with icing sugar on top. When you put frosting on it, it still tastes good but doesn't have the same luxurious taste that it does with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Amazing. Have made it several times and it's worked great. Couple of tips. 1) use ice cold water. if you remember your chemistry classes, the colder the water, the slower the baking soda + vinegar reaction will be. And you want as much reaction happening AFTER you put the cake in the oven, not before. 2) Mix (sift) the dry ingredients together in 1 bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in another bowl (or measuring cup). DO NOT mix the wet and dry ingredients together until everything else is ready (oven hot, pan greased, etc). 3) If you are having trouble getting the cake out of the pan, throw the entire pan + cake in the freezer overnight. That will prevent the cake from tearing when you take it out. I found the cake easier to frost when semi-frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saaraa luvs anthony
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
i made this cake bc it looked easy. i used 1/2 cup of veg oil, 1 cup of sugar and i couldn't find my van extract. i made peanut butter frosting and wow.... what a hit im sooo glad.. i used less sugar and oil... definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I halved the recipe for an 8x8 dish, and it came out perfectly moist and delicious. Next time, I'll make the 9x13 because it went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Great cake! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love this! It's my go to cake recipe now! I've made it several times and also in cake pops and cupcakes. It's my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
My grandma used to make this cake but called it Hard Times Cake - a depression era recipe. Love that it doesn't taste as sweet as other cakes. Great with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonalikj
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
this is my go to recipe for an eggless chocolate cake.Easy to make and tastes great on its own as well.Have made this many times and it has never failed me.I always add 1 tspn of instant coffee powder to bring out the chocolate flavour.Also,adding chocolate chips to it is great.U cant taste the vinegar at all in the cake.In fact,my friends were surprised when I told them this was an eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Intention 8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneM
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I really love this recipe! I had to try it, after tasting it at a friend's child's birthday party. With so many of our friends' children having egg allergies and having some vegan friends, too, this recipe is perfect. Even my egg-loving dad says the cakes come out tasting very good. After reading other reviews, I've made the following adjustments: Chocolate (original) version: I subbed cooled coffee for the water, which gave it a richer flavor. Vanilla GF version: I replaced the amounts of the AP flour and cocoa powder in the recipe with GF flour, and doubled the amount of vanilla extract. My hubby actually preferred this over the original, with and without frosting. Orange version: For the recipe halved (9 servings), I replaced 2/3 of water with OJ and, added the zest of 1 large orange, and subbed orange extract for the vanilla. I baked it in a Wilton giant cupcake pan for closer to 50 min. My mom thought it was too sweet, but my dad and 3yo chocoholic son loved it. I might have to reduce the amount of OJ, or do only fresh-squeezed next time. It doesn't even need frosting. I usually do one small cake for my children to blow out the candles, and the rest are cupcakes. The cupcakes usually take as long as the box mix versions do. I will be making the original and vanilla versions for my daughter's first birthday party next week. I'm so glad my friend referred this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States