Crawford Polish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used russet potatoes, omitted the butter, and used bulk turkey sausage. I'm so used to cooking with onions, that I added a chopped one to the meat as I cooked it! This is a great new Shepard's Pie for me! The nutmeg is a great seasoning for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We loved this. I used sour cream instead of cream and it gave this even more flavor. Next time, I'll probably add more potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
The first words out of my boyfriend after he tried this were "This is AWESOME!" He's the pickiest person EVER and my jaw dropped by his reaction over this. I used red-skinned potatoes..don't know if that made a difference. And I didn't rinse the sauerkraut. There was a nice juice on the bottom of the pan from it after it cooked. I used a bit more butter and some garlic powder also. Delicious. And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
wonderful recipe easy for the novice and a wonderful 'comfort food'. I boiled the Kielbasas for 5 min before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This has officially become one of my all-time favorite recipes! This is some of the best comfort food EVER! I didn't follow the portion of the recipe regarding the potatoes because I make mashed potatoes the way my mom makes them (no recipe, just wing it until it tastes the way you want). I also added a can of cream of mushroom/celery soup on top of the kielbasa. And I agree, the kraut gets lost so I also doubled the kraut. LOVE IT!!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Amazing! Perfect comfort food!! I took someone's suggestion and used sour cream, although I'm sure it'd be just as great with regular cream. I'm about to go for my third helping--I just wanted to get this review in ASAP because I'm so excited about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! I made it with sour cream and without rinsing the sauerkraut (as suggested by other reviewers), and it was delicious! Such a simple, tasty and satisfying casserole. Thanks so much for posting it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't have cream so used milk instead. This was easy, affordable, & I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
So easy, so good! Used homemade sauerkraut, rinsed well as recipe directed. I was skeptical about the nutmeg in the mashed potatoes, but it didn't overpower the dish and blended nicely with other flavors--not discernable with the overall flavor combination. Took to a potluck and it was well received--creamy, salty, tangy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good taste, but definitely recommend using a slow cooker (crock pot) rather than an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States