Crawfish Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is OUTSTANDING! Husband says he would give it 6 stars if possible. I did alter the recipe a bit... I'm sure fresh peppers/onions/celery would be better, but I used frozen seasoning mix to save time. I also used Tony Chachere's® Creole Seasoning in place of the salt/pepper for more Cajun flavor. One tasty addition that I would recommend: I added about a half cup of corn, which provided a bit of sweetness and a little crunch. I also placed a top crust on the pie, but then again, I like a lot of crust. Two forks up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I cooked this for the first time this weekend. We had a crawfish boil the day before and had crawfish tails that needed to be used. I doubled my recipe as I was cooking for a pretty large group. I used the store bought pie crust. First sauted onions, bell peppers, celery in butter. Then added some chopped garlic. Then added diced tomatoes, cream of mushroom soup, evaporated milk, and Tony Chachere's seasoning along with garlic powder (and cajun seasoning will do). I let this all come to a medium boil and then added cornstarch to thicken. Placed all of the filling into the buttered pie crusts and baked. It was amazing. Will be making this again. Next time I will add green onions to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe!! So easy and the flavor was wonderful. I would recommend this to any one. I did cover it with a store bought pie crust. It will remain on my favorite list!! I could have used two 12 ounce packs of crawfish meat, especially since I covered the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Yummy! I had leftovers from a big crawfish boil in our subdivision and made this the next day. Didn't change a thing. Hubby and I are finishing it up tonight - can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
There are not enough stars for this! I doubled recipe, used 2 crusts in a deepdish pan. Everyone came back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Delicious! I altered the recipe by adding some yellow squash that I had on hand. I didn't use any water at all - just added the flour right into the veggie/crawfish mix. It thickened right up. I also added a crust on top of the pie. And I used 2 Tablespoons of Creole Seasoning (we like our spicy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I omitted the celery and replaced it with a can of cream of celery. I also omitted the water and flour. And I used about 2 pounds of crawfish, and some creole seasoning. It was easily the best seafood dish I have ever had anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was awesome! I took advice from another reviewer & added cream of mushroom & diced tomatoes, actually Rotel. Oh and instead of corn starch to thicken it, I accidentally used corn meal, so it was still a little runny! lol! I mixed a little shredded cheese with mayo and spread it on top to give a different topping. Next time I'm going to add a top crust & maybe a little chicken. Oh yea, I'll omit the corn meal next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
wow ! this recipe was amazing.it is so simple that even an inexperienced cook can cook this like a pro. i omitted the tomato and i added 3/4 can of cream of chicken . and i added corn which gave the pie a added mouth - explosion. explore with this recipe ! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great Recipe!! kept everything the same but I added Corn.. would use less pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States