Crawfish Etouffee IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This recipe was so much fun! My husband is from south Louisiana. The home of Cajun cooking. He is by far the best Cajun cook (I'm lucky!) I have a hard time matching his recipes but with a few tweaks he said my etouffee beat his and his mom's. Here are my changes. I used 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup vegetable oil to saute 3 stalks celery along with the bell pepper and onion. When the veggies were soft I added 3 cloves of garlic that I ran through a garlic press. I didn't add the crawfish until the gravy was mixed, seasoned and had cooked a bit.I used 2 1/2 cans of the cream of mushroom soup, a can of Rotel, some Don's Cajun seasoning (from Scott, La), a sprinkle of McCormick Cajun seasoning and a few shakes of Emeril's essence, a bit of salt and black pepper. There was still something missing so I added a couple heaping tablespoons of tomato paste that I had in the freezer.I added the craw fish and cooked a bit longer. As a final touch I threw in a good sized handful of chopped green onion tops (for color and taste). Served over fluffy white rice. Perfection!! I only wish that we hadn't cleaned our plates before I thought of taking a picture. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutch Baby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This recipe is very good and simple to make, made few changes but over all very happy with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I adjusted the recipe like this: 1/4 cup vegetable oil. 2 TBS minced garlic. 1 (10.75 oz) can Cream of Mushroom Soup (if not creamy enough add milk in a little at a time till desired taste). Replace salt and pepper with Tony Chacheres or Season Salt if possible. Add 1 TBS paprika and a dash of cayenne pepper and your good to go! This is served over rice. To thicken the recipe mix 2 TBS cornstarch with a little cold water and add to recipe. Also parsley is an accent to the side of the dish after served into a bowl. -Louisiana Girl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Shawn Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinygynie
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I added shrimp and calamari too! Great easy version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I tried this recipe today & it was so delicious. I changed a few things & added a few things to make it my own. Other than that it was delicious...will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nele Ville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! I didn't use all 3 cans of soup, and doubled the crawfish; family and friends loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made as written. Easy to make and tasted great. When I make this in the future I will reduce the amount of oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I used butter instead of margarine (just a personal preference) I didn't have enough cream of mushroom so I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of celery and a little water for thinner sauce. Also added some Slap Ya Mama seasoning. This was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
added more garlic, 3-4 cloves, substituted marinara sauce for tomato, added pimento peppers, added 3-4 jumbo shrimp and a can of chopped clams w/juice,very easy on cajun seasoning, didn't want to tear-up eating. Awesome!! -TFM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
WOW!! This was great, even with my changes. I used only 2 cans of cream soups (1 each of mushroom and celery) and since we only had a 12 oz. package of precooked crawfish tails, I added some chopped celery while sauteing the pepper, onion and garlic. (The tails were added at about halfway through the simmer since they were already cooked.) The dish seemed a little soupy to me so the next time I might drain the tomatoes, but we WILL have it again. A couple shots of Tabasco finished it off perfectly and since there are only two of us, we'll have leftovers later. Thanks so much for the recipe - Laissez les bons temps rouler!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States