Crawfish Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
I'm a cajun gal myself with my roots in Louisiana and the gulf coast of Texas, and this recipe is nothing close to my family's recipe for etouffe, which requires making a roux and cooking it dark, to start I have also never seen tomato of any kind go into etoufee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very disappointing. I knew it would be when I saw there was no roux and no seasoning...how can this be considered a "true cajun recipe"?????? I will quit looking for a cajun shortcut and stick with what I know to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have used this recipe a zillion times and it's always a hit. A few changes I made are:I throw in a generous dash of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and another dash of cayenne pepper (to taste-I like it spicy)AND about ten minutes before it's done I use about a 1/4 to 1/2 of Heavy Whipping Cream stirred in to make it VERY rich!! I also usually double the recipe with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Having lived in Louisiana my whole life I can tell you that this IS an authentic cajun crawfish etoufee recipe! The other reviewers I see that talk about using a roux MUST be talking about crawfish stew because I have made etouffee hundreds of times and have NEVER used a roux. BUT when I make crawfish stew I always use a good medium to med.-dark roux. If you find the recipe bland then just add some powdered crawfish boil seasoning or Tony Chachere's seasoning to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This recipe is exceptional! Local Cajun Restaurant's ettouffe was thought to be the best but this is equal to or better than. If you want it spicier add a little cayenne or cajun seasoning. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
So darn good! I have to admit that I used shrimp instead, as I can't get crawfish in Salem at present. It's still EXCELLENT. My son loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Being from the New Orleans area, I find the basic part of this recipe to be good. I don't use as much oil and a little more butter, and I add lots of cajun seasoning and a good bit of fresh garlic when I am sauting the vegs. I also double the recipe, and sometimes add much more of everything than suggested and it all cooks down fine. Many people say that tomatoes or the paste don't belong in the etouffe (it is more of a creole dish with the red sauce), but I always get phenomenal reviews when I make it. Then again, that's what cajun dishes are all about--just cooking all your stuff down with spice, and ya get what ya get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I only cook about twice a year, but I made this for my fiance for Valentine's Day and she was thoroughly impressed. How much of this was due to the sole fact that I cooked, I'm not sure, but I did enjoy this dish very very much. Added smoked sausage, mushrooms, jalapenos, cayenne, and used a garlic alfredo sauce instead of tomato paste. Gave it a little spice kick and served over rice. Thanks for the recipe! I may just start cooking every week now ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Yummy Etouffee! Worthy of any Ya-ya...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Daddy Rafe
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
just want to say this is an excellent recipe very authentic i love it it's whats for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Daddy Rafe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States