Crawfish Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
I'm a cajun gal myself with my roots in Louisiana and the gulf coast of Texas, and this recipe is nothing close to my family's recipe for etouffe, which requires making a roux and cooking it dark, to start I have also never seen tomato of any kind go into etoufee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
I made this dish for my co-workers and they loved it! I added red pepper and cajuin seasoning for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
My husband is from Louisiana and he raved over it! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This was my first time making etouffee and it turned out delicious! It was easy to prepare and quick. I used shrimps instead of crawfish because it was hard to find any crawfish and my two years old daughter loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Excellent etouffe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Yummy Etouffee! Worthy of any Ya-ya...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I wouldn't know about the authenticity of this recipe, but I do know it would have been remarkably bland if I had not added dried red chili pepper and Tabasco to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This recipe is exceptional! Local Cajun Restaurant's ettouffe was thought to be the best but this is equal to or better than. If you want it spicier add a little cayenne or cajun seasoning. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was not complicated at all. I added smoked sausage and chicken with a little extra broth. Everyone loved it, and they all asked for seconds. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I only cook about twice a year, but I made this for my fiance for Valentine's Day and she was thoroughly impressed. How much of this was due to the sole fact that I cooked, I'm not sure, but I did enjoy this dish very very much. Added smoked sausage, mushrooms, jalapenos, cayenne, and used a garlic alfredo sauce instead of tomato paste. Gave it a little spice kick and served over rice. Thanks for the recipe! I may just start cooking every week now ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States