Crawfish Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Didn't really taste like authentic etoufee, but it was good, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This was a really easy and really good recipe, but it definitely needed some kind of spice. Next time, I'll have to add some pepper or something to make it a little less bland. The family liked it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Madrid, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
good recipe... 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned paste is more authentic... I subsituted canned chicken broth for shrimp broth (made from shrimp bouillon or boiled shrimp shells). There should also be a roux base in true etouffee made with flour and oil in lieu of cornstarch dissolved in water. Good fast shortcut to the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This recipe was very good. It wasn't hot. I can't foods that are very hot. This one was delicious. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This recipe was absolutely delicious, and I plan to prepare it again tonight. I too am from Louisiana, and unfortunately there is not a good etouffee recipe in my family. Well, now there is! Don't be alarmed at the amount of onion. When preparing this dish, I was sure that there was a typo. Onions were practically overflowing from my pan, but it all cooks down nicely, and the flavor is NOT overwhelming. In fact, it is perfect! I don't have any plans to try other etouffee recipes! I did however add some minced garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I added quite a bit of Old Bay & Cayenne Seasoning and served it on a bed of white rice. I will definately make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This was fantastic! I used shrimp as well, added extra tomato paste and quite a bit of Old Bay and cayenne. It was pretty rich so I couldn't eat as much as I would have liked to. I'll probably cut the butter in half next time and add some more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Very good. Even better with a little cayenne pepper. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I made this the other night and both my husband and I thought it was very good! My 2-yr-old even liked it and asked me what it was. I used both crawfish and shrimp, added 3 cloves of garlic, and added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne (could have used more though). I seasoned the crawfish and shrimp with some Old Bay seasoning beforehand as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I only cook about twice a year, but I made this for my fiance for Valentine's Day and she was thoroughly impressed. How much of this was due to the sole fact that I cooked, I'm not sure, but I did enjoy this dish very very much. Added smoked sausage, mushrooms, jalapenos, cayenne, and used a garlic alfredo sauce instead of tomato paste. Gave it a little spice kick and served over rice. Thanks for the recipe! I may just start cooking every week now ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States