Crawfish Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I am from New Orleans, and it is hard to find authentic recipes with a twist. I loved this recipe. It was better than my mom's. Shhhh! Don't tell her that. lol. I'm still getting compliments. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenaFrazier
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Daddy Rafe
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
just want to say this is an excellent recipe very authentic i love it it's whats for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Daddy Rafe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I tried this recipe because I did not feel like making the Roux I normally make for my Étouffée. If you want to taste the true Cajun taste of it you have to make it with the roux. I was pretty disappointed, but if u are not familiar with the taste of real Étouffée this recipe will work just fine for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Not all, but most of the crawfish etouffee I've seen and tasted whether in a cajun restaurant or made by my relatives born and raised in Southern Louisiana is an orangy color, which is based on tomato paste. The dark roux we use is typically for gumbo or rice and gravy. To those reading reviews...try the recipe for yourself. It is still authentic though the recipe varies in flavor/ingredients depending on region and personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole9z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Bland, but has potential. I will try again and add cayenne and more cajun seasoning. This is worth a re-do because of my gluten allergy, I really miss Etouffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was great! I spent like 5 hours catching, cooking, and cleaning the crawfish, but it was so worth it! A great summer day event, next time I'll make people help me catch them if they wanna eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolhand37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Bland, I agree with the comments about there not being a roux. I tried it because of gluten issues. But just not the same. :-( I also added a ton of tobasco and cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
It did come out a little bland, but Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning does the trick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
So darn good! I have to admit that I used shrimp instead, as I can't get crawfish in Salem at present. It's still EXCELLENT. My son loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States