Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This recipe is outstanding! I have been making this for a couple of years now and always receive compliments from family and friends. Very simple recipe to follow and the results are "restaurant quality". This recipe blows away the local "Award-Winning Shrimp Bisque". I use the crawfish tail meat that you can get in the frozen seafood section at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is an excellent chowder. Due to the exorbitant price of crawfish, I used two pounds of shrimp and to lighten up a little, we used the fat free half and half. It took overnight in the frig for the flavors to completely meld. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I doubled the cream cheese and corn, as a previous reviewer mentioned and used Old Bay Seasoning instead of cayenne. Also, I used one medium yellow onion, 5 small red potatoes (diced), fresh mushrooms, and 1 lb ground italian sausage all fried separately in a pan (w/ butter if needed) and Old Bay Seasoning and added to the soup. Instead of using 2 lbs of crawfish, i used 1 lb. If using sausage, 1 lb is plenty! My husband said it was the best chowder he has ever had. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I discovered this recipe on your web-site about 3 years ago. I have made this dozens of times. This is the most requested recipe I have ever had. When asked what I should bring, this is the dish of choice. The only thing I do differently, is that I double the amount of cream cheese and the corn. I have made it exactly as the recipe shows and it's still REALLY GOOD. Being from Louisiana, crawfish may be more attainble for me. I have also made this dish with shrimp and crabmeat and it is still DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I've made this twice now. Both times this chowder received raves from my family and my friends. I haven't changed the recipe a bit - I just doubled it because everyone goes back for seconds (and thirds).I'm from Louisiana so I am particular about my crawfish - this passed all my tests for a delicious use of Louisiana crawfish! Thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I was very pleased with this recipe; however, I made a few substitutions (Smart Balance for the butter, 98% fat free cream of mushroom, fat free cream cheese, fat free half & half), omissions (green onions), and additions (imitation crab meat, broccoli, and garlic powder). I would definitely make this again, except I would add more half & half to increase creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is absolutely the best crawfish chowder ever! Everytime I make it I get rave reviews and everyone wants the recipe. I also add about 2 large red potatoes, parboiled and cut in small pieces + about 1/2 cup dry sherry at the end! If you have a super Walmart nearby, you can get the crawfish meat, cleaned and packaged in 12oz packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
With the exception of crawfish for crab, this is the exact same recipe for a crab corn chowder I got from a friend. Spice it up with cayenne or Tabasco sauce. It needs a kick to take it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Made this tonight, exactly as recipes is written. Everyone loved it. Even my 3 year old son. It is very rich, so I will try to make it again with lighter ingredients. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This is incredibly delicious. Everyone who has tried it has loved it. It is so easy that I have already made it three times! I've used creole seasoning rather than the cayenne the last two times, but either way it is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States