Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very good. I also used the frozen crawfish tails from Walmart. I did find I needed to add some Old Bay and garlic powder. Also added bit of salt. I didn't have cream of mushroom so I subbed with cream of celery. Used only 1/2 cup butter, but doubled the cream cheese. Can't wait to try it tomorrow after it "melds" in the fridge overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I wanted to do something with some of the fresh ingredients that I had access to and this was perfect. I substituted a pound of shrimp(since they were so large, I had to cut them so that they would cook through at the same rate as the crawfish) for the other pound of crawfish and used fresh crab meat. Here in Savannah, the cost of the fresh stuff is often less than that of the canned. My dad is a huge chowder fan and wasn't too keen on this when he saw the prep, but upon tasting it decided that the pot and it's contents belonged to him. It was a hit! I was worried about how it would reheat, but he'd said that the flavors were even better by day two. I'm allergic to mushrooms and sampled some beforehand. I'd like to try subbing the cream of mushroom with a cream of celery soup next time, though I don't know if it will lose that richness that mushrooms add. Any suggestions would be welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was so good, restaurant quality really. I did use Crab and Clams instead, because I didn't have crawfish. This was so good, people wouldn't wait until the soup was done to taste it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aelisala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Did not have crawfish, so I used shrimp instead, it was really good. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
fine, but nothing compated to my crab and corn bisque
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
this a great!! i'm not one to strictly follow a recipe (i mean really, no two women put on make up the same) BUT i followed this one pretty closely. if you object to changes or or calorie conscious, read the next review. for the rest of us cajuns, here's a simple tip: sautee 1/2 a yellow onion and diced mushrooms along with the green onions. add about 4 slices of finely chopped bacon to the soup mix, along with some crab meat and a generous helping of tony's (NOT OLD BAY). so good...it'll make you wanna slap your mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Having just returned from a trip to New Orleans,I have my reservations about a recipe where most of the ingredients we pre-prepared and/or canned. My wife and I were wonderfully surprised! Quick, easy and pretty close to authentic. This is a permanent do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a BIG hit. I would give this six stars if I could. I doubled the cream cheese like suggested by other members, and used cream of potato dry mix instead of the canned soups. I also added smoked sausage, and added bay seasoning along with the cayenne. I will definitely will be making this again. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. I made several changes due to the ingredients I had on hand. I only used one lb of crawfish because they are so expensive around here and only used one stick of butter total and leeks instead of green onions. I added some Old Bay, garlic powder and white pepper and threw in some frozen hashbrowns to make up for the missing crawfish. This was excellent and I will most definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States