Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used this years ago when I had a few pounds of leftover crawfish after a big boil. I followed the recipe to the T and it was amazing. Next time I saved some corn and potatoes from the boil and it was even better. Because of the spices in the boil it really heated up the chowder. Now I do crawfish boils just so I can have leftovers for the chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We loved this recipe! I couldn't find crawfish so I used 2 lbs of shrimp. And I used 1 can of each: cream of potato, cream of mushroom and cream of shrimp. I love corn escpecially roasted. So I bought fresh frozen and pan roasted it in some olive oil until the corn has a nice browning color. So I probably added more corn than the recipe states. Lastly added 8 ounces of cream cheese since it comes 8 ounces to a package. I figured it wouldn't hurt with all that extra corn. Really fantastic recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this in one pot and it was the best chowder my family has ever eaten. I had to use imitation crab due to not being able to find crawfish. It always make me laugh when people say even their picky kids eat and love things. In this case it was true!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
One word says it all...AWESOME. We could not find mud bugs so we substituted shrimp. We took others advice and doubled the cream cheese and corn. It was a little thick for us so we added additional half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I've made this a couple of times now, and have decided that my favorite version includes the following: (I generally make half the amount of the original recipe-- it still makes a large pot of rich and hearty soup!) saute a diced onion along with the green onions, 1 lb frozen langostino tails instead of crawfish, 1 can potato soup, 1 box of the condensed portabello mushroom soup from Trader Joes (a must!!), no corn, double the rec amt of cream cheese (full 4oz when making half the original recipe), a bit of Tony Chacheres Creole seasoning, pepper and a few small red potatoes. I cut back the butter from the beginning and just use what's needed to saute the onions and langostinos, not a full 3/4 cup. This isn't a light soup, but sometimes it hits the spot! I think it's better if it simmers longer than the recipes calls for, or even when warmed back up the next day. Serve with fresh baked peasant style bread-- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
AMAZING. So good, and so easy. Recipe makes a large batch, too. I made a few changes--used shrimp instead of crawfish (only because of the expense. I would prefer crawfish but the shrimp was awesome too). Used only one can of potato soup, and two cans cream of mushroom. No cayenne pepper, and a few tablespoons Landry's garlic salt (really good brand of garlic salt, btw). Also, added about half a cup chopped red onion to the green onion sautee. EXCELLENT. I suspect it would freeze well, but haven't tried it. **Note: if you use frozen shrimp/crawfish like I did, either thaw it out thoroughly and pat dry or sautee it on low heat for 10 minutes and then drain it before you add it to the soup mixture. Otherwise you add too much water to your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Someone said to drain the crawfish-- I would NOT. The liquid that comes with the frozen crawfish from Walmart adds IMMENSELY to the flavor and gives a delicate pink color. In terms of thickness, the last time I made this I actually used heavy cream (bad girl) instead of the half and half. I mean, it's not diet food and it's a treat, so why not go all the way? This chowder is probably the BEST thing I have ever eaten. Truly! I use the frozen crawfish tail meat from Walmart. I use cream of shrimp soup instead of cream of mushroom, use a small Vidalia onion instead of the green onions, double the cream cheese, and leave out the corn. Just minor personal preferences but whether you make this recipe as printed or tweak it to personal taste, it is simply unbelievably good. If this were on a restaurant menu, I would be coming back regularly and probably never getting enough. Being able to save money by making something so incredibly satisfying at home is absolutely thrilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Ok I have to admit I was skeptical at first---but I am going to say this was absolutely delish!! I served at a party for about 18 ppl & they all raved about it & they all want the recipe!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My family LOVED this! And I felt like a pro serving this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe very closely except for the seasoning. I added a tablespoon of cayenne pepper and it was perfect for my family. Will certainly use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States