Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Glorious recipe. Best with leftover crawfish from a boil, but if you have to use frozen, try sprinkling a little crawfish boil seasoning on them and simmer a bit longer. Takes away that frozen crawfish taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaGray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner tonight with the leftover crawfish tails that we had from a boil over the weekend. This recipe is delicious. I will most likely use it every time we have leftover crawfish. I read the other reviews and decided to do as suggested and double the corn and the cream cheese. I followed the recipe exactly in everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I added the golden trio: chopped onion, bell pepper, and celery. Cooked that down before I put the soups in the pot. Added more to the flavor!! Great recipe and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good recipe, I gave 4/5 stars because it was just too rich and unhealthy for my taste but the texture and flavor was great. I used spicy chicken sausage instead of the crawfish and added roasted jalapeños. Next time I will substitute low fat cream cheese/sour cream for the cheese and use milk instead of half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wonderful!!!! This recipe was easy to follow and has an absolutely wonderful flavor! My neighbor made this and shared with our family Christmas Eve. My children, ages 10, 15, & 17 (who can be quite picky) ALL enjoyed the chowder! I made it for New Years and will be making it again and again for sure! I bought my crawfish at Kroger in the frozen meat dept. since they are out of season right now. I also didn't have Cayenne Pepper so I just used some season all and black pepper and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
great recipe! I always make this with bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
very good recipe, i used 2 bags of frozen crawfish tails from walmart, and doubled up cream cheese and corn and added 10 slices of bacon in the end. cooked all of this in slow cooker, but prepped the same way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
The basic idea of the recipe is great. It is so much better though to make the creamy base with a roux and cream/Half & Half as opposed to canned soup (aarrrrrgh!). I also found that adding some fresh (your choice of type) mushrooms gives it a great little subtle twist. ~Rodney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Thought this was amazing. Unfortunately I wasn't able to use crawfish because they're too expensive here, but shrimp was an excellent replacement. It comes out even better if you can use potato and mushroom soup made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Using this recipe with left over seafood boil makes it some much better. As is, the result is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States