Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
this a great!! i'm not one to strictly follow a recipe (i mean really, no two women put on make up the same) BUT i followed this one pretty closely. if you object to changes or or calorie conscious, read the next review. for the rest of us cajuns, here's a simple tip: sautee 1/2 a yellow onion and diced mushrooms along with the green onions. add about 4 slices of finely chopped bacon to the soup mix, along with some crab meat and a generous helping of tony's (NOT OLD BAY). so good...it'll make you wanna slap your mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Having just returned from a trip to New Orleans,I have my reservations about a recipe where most of the ingredients we pre-prepared and/or canned. My wife and I were wonderfully surprised! Quick, easy and pretty close to authentic. This is a permanent do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a BIG hit. I would give this six stars if I could. I doubled the cream cheese like suggested by other members, and used cream of potato dry mix instead of the canned soups. I also added smoked sausage, and added bay seasoning along with the cayenne. I will definitely will be making this again. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. I made several changes due to the ingredients I had on hand. I only used one lb of crawfish because they are so expensive around here and only used one stick of butter total and leeks instead of green onions. I added some Old Bay, garlic powder and white pepper and threw in some frozen hashbrowns to make up for the missing crawfish. This was excellent and I will most definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Oh my gosh! This was awesome! I'll definitely fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I don't have much to say about this soup that the other people haven't said. It is amazing!!! I could eat this soup every day of my life. RUN RUN RUN to the grocery store, buy the ingredients, and make this. You will not regret it. Fab!!! A couple of notes.. I did cut about half a stick of butter by sauteeing both together. I just started with a little butter and continued to add as needed. Keep the half and half. I mean, if you are looking for a diet soup, this ain't it. Embrace the calories and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was really good soup! I followed the directions, but added a generous amount of Old Bay at the end. I am shocked that something with canned soup tasted so amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great chowder and a simple recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Could not keep this in the house!!!!!!!! I didn't add the Cayenne to the whole pot but my individual bowl because of the kids. I loved it with and without the Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I was given a rave review from a close friend when I made this for her. I took the advise of other reviews and added doubled the cream cheese and corn, and added skinless smoked sausage. I had frozen tail meat and used that. Wonderful stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States