Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Someone said to drain the crawfish-- I would NOT. The liquid that comes with the frozen crawfish from Walmart adds IMMENSELY to the flavor and gives a delicate pink color. In terms of thickness, the last time I made this I actually used heavy cream (bad girl) instead of the half and half. I mean, it's not diet food and it's a treat, so why not go all the way? This chowder is probably the BEST thing I have ever eaten. Truly! I use the frozen crawfish tail meat from Walmart. I use cream of shrimp soup instead of cream of mushroom, use a small Vidalia onion instead of the green onions, double the cream cheese, and leave out the corn. Just minor personal preferences but whether you make this recipe as printed or tweak it to personal taste, it is simply unbelievably good. If this were on a restaurant menu, I would be coming back regularly and probably never getting enough. Being able to save money by making something so incredibly satisfying at home is absolutely thrilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Ok I have to admit I was skeptical at first---but I am going to say this was absolutely delish!! I served at a party for about 18 ppl & they all raved about it & they all want the recipe!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My family LOVED this! And I felt like a pro serving this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe very closely except for the seasoning. I added a tablespoon of cayenne pepper and it was perfect for my family. Will certainly use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very good. I also used the frozen crawfish tails from Walmart. I did find I needed to add some Old Bay and garlic powder. Also added bit of salt. I didn't have cream of mushroom so I subbed with cream of celery. Used only 1/2 cup butter, but doubled the cream cheese. Can't wait to try it tomorrow after it "melds" in the fridge overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Greening Stocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I wanted to do something with some of the fresh ingredients that I had access to and this was perfect. I substituted a pound of shrimp(since they were so large, I had to cut them so that they would cook through at the same rate as the crawfish) for the other pound of crawfish and used fresh crab meat. Here in Savannah, the cost of the fresh stuff is often less than that of the canned. My dad is a huge chowder fan and wasn't too keen on this when he saw the prep, but upon tasting it decided that the pot and it's contents belonged to him. It was a hit! I was worried about how it would reheat, but he'd said that the flavors were even better by day two. I'm allergic to mushrooms and sampled some beforehand. I'd like to try subbing the cream of mushroom with a cream of celery soup next time, though I don't know if it will lose that richness that mushrooms add. Any suggestions would be welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was so good, restaurant quality really. I did use Crab and Clams instead, because I didn't have crawfish. This was so good, people wouldn't wait until the soup was done to taste it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aelisala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Did not have crawfish, so I used shrimp instead, it was really good. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
fine, but nothing compated to my crab and corn bisque
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Stowers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States