Crawfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this as written except I doubled the cream cheese per the advice of other reviewers. It was AWESOME! The only thing I would suggest is maybe reducing the half and half because it was a tiny bit watery in my opinion, but I still rate it 5 stars. I brought it to a party and everyone wanted the recipe. I am not a great cook but this was easy and even I didn't mess it up! I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG THIS IS AMAZING!!! I have been looking for a restaurant quality recipe and had almost given up. This truly is what i was looking for! I went exactly by the recipe and the only thing i will change next time is a little less cayenne. It was pretty spicy, but i loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the cream cheese and did about 1 3/4 cups of half and half. My husband isn't a fan of crawfish so I used shrimp, clam meat, and baby scallops. I also had a shallot on hand so I chopped that and added it in with the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My husband wasn't thrilled when he found out I was making this for dinner and told me he has never liked any chowder he's tried. He loved this so I give it 5 stars. :) I only used half the crawfish (frozen from Super Walmart - thanks to others who suggested looking there!) and it was plenty; enough to have some in every bite. Two pounds would have been WAY too expensive. Otherwise followed the recipe as-is. I only wish it wasn't so high in fat or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I love this soup it is rich and creamy and wonderful. I used 1 pound on large raw shrimp and 1 pkg. of mixed seafood frozen 1 lb (Vons). I also added 1 cup of potatoes o Brian frozen to the mix. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken also added 1/4 c of red/green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used this years ago when I had a few pounds of leftover crawfish after a big boil. I followed the recipe to the T and it was amazing. Next time I saved some corn and potatoes from the boil and it was even better. Because of the spices in the boil it really heated up the chowder. Now I do crawfish boils just so I can have leftovers for the chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We loved this recipe! I couldn't find crawfish so I used 2 lbs of shrimp. And I used 1 can of each: cream of potato, cream of mushroom and cream of shrimp. I love corn escpecially roasted. So I bought fresh frozen and pan roasted it in some olive oil until the corn has a nice browning color. So I probably added more corn than the recipe states. Lastly added 8 ounces of cream cheese since it comes 8 ounces to a package. I figured it wouldn't hurt with all that extra corn. Really fantastic recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this in one pot and it was the best chowder my family has ever eaten. I had to use imitation crab due to not being able to find crawfish. It always make me laugh when people say even their picky kids eat and love things. In this case it was true!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
One word says it all...AWESOME. We could not find mud bugs so we substituted shrimp. We took others advice and doubled the cream cheese and corn. It was a little thick for us so we added additional half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I've made this a couple of times now, and have decided that my favorite version includes the following: (I generally make half the amount of the original recipe-- it still makes a large pot of rich and hearty soup!) saute a diced onion along with the green onions, 1 lb frozen langostino tails instead of crawfish, 1 can potato soup, 1 box of the condensed portabello mushroom soup from Trader Joes (a must!!), no corn, double the rec amt of cream cheese (full 4oz when making half the original recipe), a bit of Tony Chacheres Creole seasoning, pepper and a few small red potatoes. I cut back the butter from the beginning and just use what's needed to saute the onions and langostinos, not a full 3/4 cup. This isn't a light soup, but sometimes it hits the spot! I think it's better if it simmers longer than the recipes calls for, or even when warmed back up the next day. Serve with fresh baked peasant style bread-- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States