Crawfish Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
We had a crawfish boil, and we used the leftovers to make this bisque. Can I just say YUM!!! It was a HUGE HIT! In addition to the crawfish and onions, I added the leftover vegetables from the boil (mushrooms and potatoes). It was the perfect touch! I also seasoned the soup with chili powder, salt, and a little bit of cayenne instead of the Cajun seasoning since the fixings were already Cajun-spiced. Again, I say YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Krienke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alindke
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Easy & Yummy. We needed to use our leftover ingredients from the crawfish boil; this was perfect! I didn't add Cayenne, instead I added Tony's. The vegetables were already seasoned from the boil. I did add 1 tablespoon of Paprika and fresh garlic. Big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alindke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
wonderful did evaporated milk instead of half and half worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MerJor
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It was a bit blander than I like, but nothing some extra cayenne pepper can't fix (and I didn't have Worcestershire sauce so that may be the problem). I did have boiled red potatoes left over because we boil them with our crawfish so I cubed some up and added it with the crawfish. VERY filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I add a can of shrimp bisque to it as well as Cajun seasoning. I puree it and use cream instead of half and half and finish with a touch of cooking sherry. Yummy and my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuzyae
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe was good. I used 3 cloves of garlic since hubs doesn't like onion. It probably would have benefitted from the onion flavor. I also omitted the cayenne since our crawfish was pretty spicy and my oldest is sensitive to spicy foods. I added a small amount of brown sugar to balance it out since I felt something was missing. This was a fantastic use of the extra tails I froze after our last crawfish boil. I ran them through the food processor for several pulses so the chunks of it weren't so huge. I used 4 cups, not sure how that works out weight-wize, probably more than necessary, but it wasn't overkill. I ate too much. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future crawfish leftovers. I'll possibly see about making up some stock and using that as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This. Was. Amazing. I was honestly skeptical about the recipe because it seems TOO simple. I loved it. I improvised a bit because I did not have all of the things listed. I used whole milk instead of half-and-half, and I omitted the cayenne pepper because I was out. I was also reading another recipe that said to boil the shells in water and use that in the bisque, so I used half-chicken broth and half of the crawfish "stock". SO GOOD! Next time I make this I will probably try using all "stock" and omitting the chicken broth. Once the soup was finished, I pureed it to make the whole thing smooth and then added the crawfish meat. Seriously, I am sad that there is none left. I loved every drop :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Excellent - made as written and added an extra half pound of crawfish. Smooth, flavorful and you can control the heat. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Made this tonight and it was a hit. I had 12oz of frozen crawfish meat so I added about half a pound of shrimp cut up into small pieces. Served it with sourdough bread. Agree that if I'd had some seafood stock it would have been even better, but all in all it was really good and really easy! I'm guessing the warmed up leftovers will be even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States