Crawfish Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I add a can of shrimp bisque to it as well as Cajun seasoning. I puree it and use cream instead of half and half and finish with a touch of cooking sherry. Yummy and my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuzyae
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe was good. I used 3 cloves of garlic since hubs doesn't like onion. It probably would have benefitted from the onion flavor. I also omitted the cayenne since our crawfish was pretty spicy and my oldest is sensitive to spicy foods. I added a small amount of brown sugar to balance it out since I felt something was missing. This was a fantastic use of the extra tails I froze after our last crawfish boil. I ran them through the food processor for several pulses so the chunks of it weren't so huge. I used 4 cups, not sure how that works out weight-wize, probably more than necessary, but it wasn't overkill. I ate too much. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future crawfish leftovers. I'll possibly see about making up some stock and using that as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This. Was. Amazing. I was honestly skeptical about the recipe because it seems TOO simple. I loved it. I improvised a bit because I did not have all of the things listed. I used whole milk instead of half-and-half, and I omitted the cayenne pepper because I was out. I was also reading another recipe that said to boil the shells in water and use that in the bisque, so I used half-chicken broth and half of the crawfish "stock". SO GOOD! Next time I make this I will probably try using all "stock" and omitting the chicken broth. Once the soup was finished, I pureed it to make the whole thing smooth and then added the crawfish meat. Seriously, I am sad that there is none left. I loved every drop :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Excellent - made as written and added an extra half pound of crawfish. Smooth, flavorful and you can control the heat. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Made this tonight and it was a hit. I had 12oz of frozen crawfish meat so I added about half a pound of shrimp cut up into small pieces. Served it with sourdough bread. Agree that if I'd had some seafood stock it would have been even better, but all in all it was really good and really easy! I'm guessing the warmed up leftovers will be even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My husband and I tried this, and we liked it very much :) It was easy and tastey! Next time we will probably add some type of veggie, just for a little crunch. we also used milk because we had no cream, we think it turned out just fine. Once it was in the bowl we add just alittle cheese ... & served with toasted french bread! Def. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was nice and creamy. Had only bought 16 oz of cream and just used that cuz I didn't have anymore. Came out ok. Also added celery by accident, thought it called for it. And no crawfish at my store, but used shrimp. This bisque was great and it's my first time having and making it Great job. I taste so gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheCook19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great recipe, I used "Better than Bouillon: Lobster Base" instead of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's okay. Seafood stock should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States