Cranberry Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Perfect for the holidays! I love how these come together. They look so impressive when they're done, like a lot more time and effort went into them. I brought these in to work and they were gone in under 10 minutes! I made the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I might change next time is to use a bit less orange peel. Make sure you chop the cranberries really fine. It'll make it easier to spread the filling. For the icing, I used vanilla-nut extract. Nice combo of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I had left over cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving I needed to use up and this was a great way to do it! So, obviously i didn't make the filling and can't say how that turned out. I did add the orange zest to the cranberry sauce and the orange flavor is just right. I did a double batch and did one as the wreaths and the other rolled up like cinnamon rolls. Both worked well. I only had half the amount of evaporated milk but used whole for the rest and it was fine. Next time I will try using orange juice instead of Vanilla in the frosting for an orange flavor. Don't be afraid of the flour on the counter top. You don't want a thick layer but if there isn't enough flour it's not going to be very easy to fold or roll the dough. The recipe says it makes a "thick batter". They mean "soft dough" so if using a mixer use the bread hooks at least once you start to add the final flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I read every review before I started. You were all very helpful. Surprise! The dough does rise in the refrigerator. I would recommend proofing the yeast. If the milk mixture is too hot, you'll waste time and ingredients. (Like I did.) Do use the bread hooks. Cranberries are not available where I'm based, so I used a one cup jar of cranberry sauce, and added one teaspoon of orange zest and 1/4 cup of sugar. To answer Kate's question.... yes, you fold it like a brochure, so there is one layer on the bottom and two layers that overlap on top. They turn out just fine! This is a very nice holiday breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious! I made these with a whole wheat dough. I cooked the cranberries with honey and grated orange peel until it looked like the juice had evaporated. These were so good that I didn't want to frost them! These are my newest Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was an adventure! First- I was out of AP flour, but since I have been dabbling in gluten free baking I had some rice flour on hand. I subbed that for the AP flour, and it resulted in a lovely dough, but one that did not rise, and also there was no way I was folding it without it cracking. Second- in a strange twist, I had no oranges (when I almost always have them) but I did have Cointreau (when I almost never have liquor)...so I subbed that in for the orange. Those were my only ingredient changes. After a rather comical couple of minutes trying to chop the rollie-pollie cranberries, I put them in my blender to chop them. I was careful to pulse until finely chopped, but not completely mashed. Now I was at a loss as to what to do with my dough. Ultimately, I rolled it into balls, flattened the balls into rounds, then spread some cranberry filling on half the rounds and topped with the remaining rounds. I crimped them together, brushed with an egg wash and baked them. Then I topped them with the frosting, which I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to in addition to the vanilla. These turned out incredibly, amazingly good- kind of like a super fancy Pop-Tart! I have every intention of making these again the proper way, but I am so happy I was able to turn what could have been a failure into a delectable success. I do believe when I make this again, I will still sub the Cointreau for the orange- it gives such a lovely depth of flavor. Overall, a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
they are delicious, but what a mess! All my filling scooshed out, so I made the wreaths and scooped the filling into the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These wreaths turned out beautifully. I didn't want to sit and chop the cranberries by hand, and I sure didn't want to use the Cuisinart to chop such a small amount. I had just finished using my nut grinder to chop up walnuts for a Christmas cookie recipe, so I ran the cranberries thru the nut grinder. It's just a cheap manual type but it did a beautiful job on the berries. Now I'll clean it on the top rack of the dishwasher and put it away until next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made this recipe & they came out great. Il made no substitutions,followed the recipe exactly. I was a little nervous,as I had never done a cold rise of yeast,but it worked fine. Very impressive looking and tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These took a bit of time, but were well worth it in the end! Every part of it tasted wonderful! The bread was light and the twist was beautiful to look at. I skipped the icing and they were sweet enough with out them. Because of where I live I had to use dried cranberries, which I added some liquid to and allowed to soak while I made the dough (also had to skip the oranges, though I think it would only add another wonderful dimension to the taste!) I wasn't sure putting the dough in the fridge would let it rise, but it did! Kids, hubby, and company all loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were really good. I do think that next time I make these I will add a few tablespoons of orange juice to the cranberry filling to make it more sauce-like instead of dry. With no liquid in the filling it didn't really "spread" well. I also will roll them up and slice them like a cinnamon roll instead of the wreath shape. With young children, time is precious!! They were delicious. I will definitely make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States