Cranberry Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Really liked this recipe! Moist with just the perfect amount of cranberries (I used craisins) Doubled the spices as suggested and also substituted 1/4 cup water for 1/4 cup OJ. I don't have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit, mixed together dry ingredients (EXCEPT 1 cup flour) added the butter (melted) and liquid stuff. Then I mixed/kneaded in the last cup of flour. Kneaded about 8 minutes (until elastic-y)and then let rise until it doubled (about 1hr), put in a greased loaf pan and let rise again (mine took about 40-50min to double) and then baked at 400F for 15 min and then reduced to 350F for 25 min (mine is an electric oven and somewhat goofy, so you might need to adjust the baking time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
Great recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly except also added sunflower seeds. I thought the clove would be too harsh tasting and I thought the bread would be too sweet with all that honey, but, boy, I was wrong! This bread is delicious as cinnamon toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My bread machine broke on me halfway through the first knead, so I had to do some extra work...still, this bread was worth it! I opted to sub some OJ in and it turned out to be a good choice, adding a wonderful balance to the tangy cranberries. Even my 3-year-old kept wanting more, which is high praise. I'm sure it would have turned out even better if my machine had survived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I just took this bread out of the bread machine. It smells wonderful while baking and tastes even better! I made this recipe exactly as stated...I'll be making a second loaf soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This sounds great but I don't have a bread machine - will the recipe still work if I make it by hand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Based on the positive reviews, I tried this for Easter dinner yesterday. It was fabulous! A nice, dense, moist bread, similar in texture to beer bread. The flavors went perfectly with ham and scalloped potatoes. By accident, we discovered that it is marvelous dipped in a dressing made of equal parts blasamic vinegar,oil and maple syrup. The recipe was requested, and I will certainly be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Absolutely delicious loaf of bread! I followed the recommendations of other reviewers, and doubled the spice amounts, plus I plumped the dried cranberries in water before adding to the dough. I set my machine for a 1½-pound loaf on the Sweet Bread cycle, medium crust. It turned out perfect, and as an added bonus, my house smelled wonderful. This is a great bread to accompany a turkey dinner, toast for breakfast, and to give as a gift (I have done all three).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
A very nice bread but did make some changes so that it would work in my bread machine: I decreased the liquid to 3/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of orange juice a total of 1 cup liquid and used all wheat flour otherwise it is too doughy for my machine, doubled all the spices like everyone else suggested. My friend told me that I can send this bread her way anytime, she really liked it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This bread is AMAZING! i put all the ingredients in my breadmachine and put it on dough setting. When it was done, i took it out and formed into the shape of a loaf and placed on a pan sprayed with cooking spray and floured and baked it at 350 degrees for 32 minutes! The result is an amazingly textured, soft bread with a hint of spice! I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States