Cranberry Walnut Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good but will reduce the sugar and dressing next time. The next day the portion at the top of the bowl (furthest from the dressing that settled at the bottom) was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet Veggie Freak
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious! I make this dish each Thanksgiving. Making this hours ahead allows the flavors to marry. Use organic ingredients, if possible, which is not only healthier, but more flavorful. Makes good leftovers for days, remaining crisp. I made only slight variations. They are as follows: 1) Chopped organic green & purple cabbage (16 oz) NOTE: Using shredded may result in the wilting that some cooks have complained of. 2) Unsweetened cranberries - the corn sugar and/or syrup that is often added is unnecessary. 3) Sauteed walnuts w/ olive oil. NOTE: Olive oil is not heat stable and should never be used over medium or higher heat. It should really only be used over low heat to avoid toxic gases. 4) 2 Tbsp sugar 5) White wine vinegar vs. distilled 6) Olive oil vs. vegetable oil 7) 1 shredded carrot View the photo that I've added to see the resulting festive appearance. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delish and happy to add this recipe to meals more regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I added the dressing a few hours ahead of time and don't recommend doing that. It really wilted the cabbage. I didn't have the dry mustard so I used fresh grated horseradish. I deleted the onion because I thought it would be to overpowering but I think next time green onions would work. I also used pistachio which made it really festive for Christmas Eve dinner. There is way too much dressing left over. I suggest halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I like this recipe and have used it many times. I leave out the walnuts but even so, it's delcious. A different, refreshing twist from normal coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was an excellent and different slaw, but I followed some suggestions from other reviews to make it tastier. I also cut it in half. I used more dried cranberries and walnuts. I also toasted the walnuts as suggested. I also didn't have white vinegar on hand, and so I combined balsamic, red wine, and rice vinegar all together. They really worked together well. I used 1/2 as much oil, and less sugar too. I also didn't want to buy dry mustard, so I used dijon mustard instead. It was so delicious and I paired it with a pumpkin soup from this website also for a nice fall dinner. The slaw holds up really well too in the fridge. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Not much flavor at all. I made it for my son's graduation party. There was WAY too much left over, so I wasn't the only one that felt that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
i made this for our annual bbq - everyone loved it. i do suggest these changes: toast the walnuts; less onion; less oil; and use white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very Good! I used green onions instead of regular onions, and used 1/3 of each kind of vinegar: white, white balsamic and cidar... they just have more flavour. I made it for a shower and everyone loved it! I'm making it agian for easter this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States