Cranberry Walnut Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this over the Christmas Holidays and all the family loved it. I did halve the dressing and used only 1 T. of sugar in dressing as I don't care for a sweet taste on salads. It's such a pretty salad for Christmas. I told my grandchildren it was Christmas Confetti Salad to get them to taste it and they loved it. The only other change is I toasted the nuts and used pecans as I didn't have walnuts. Walnuts would surely be just as good. Thanks Twiggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
There is a difference between a stalk and a rib of celery. The whole thing ia a stalk and you don't want one stalk in this slaw. It's one RIB....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Would like to try this using whole cranberries instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
WARNING: After reading other reviews, I halved the oil and vinegar and it was still drowing in dressing. I added another full bag of slaw and it was just about right. I doubled the cranberries, doubled the nuts (used roasted almonds right from the bag for extra crunch) and nearly tripled the dry mustard. The ingredients together are delicious and make a light, fresh slaw. This recipe is just way off on the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a great side dish for any day, but especially nice for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So good I ate the leftovers as a snack! I will be making this again soon! I did make a few changes, however. I used fresh green and red cabbages and sliced them into ribbons and added some Napa cabbage for a frilly touch. I omitted the onion to please my family. I also used three stalks of celery, one cup dried cranberries, and a half cup toasted walnuts. I used white wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil and a teaspoon of coarse grained mustard instead of the dry mustard. No change with the sugar and salt. I really liked the sweetness of the dressing. This recieved rave reviews from family and guests! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Delicious! I used almonds instead of walnuts, and added a little extra vinegar and mustard. I like tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Absolutely loved this! Have made many times since last Thanksgiving. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good but will reduce the sugar and dressing next time. The next day the portion at the top of the bowl (furthest from the dressing that settled at the bottom) was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States