Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I love this recipe. I made it with 3 cups of wheat flour instead of bread flour. I also increased the cranberries to 1 full cup and the walnuts to 3/4 of a cup. I used my bread machine, but removed from the machine before the last raise and shaped into two smaller loaves and baked in the oven on a flat pan. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used 2 cups whole wheat and 1.5 cups white (adding another 1/2 cup of flour). I put this in my bread machine on Dough setting then took it out once complete, kneaded the cranberry and walnuts in, put it back in the bread machine pan and put it in a warm place, covered it and let it rise for another hour. I then molded it into a round on a parchment lined cookie sheet and let it rise for another 40 minutes and it rose again, about 50% more. I then baked it for 40 minutes until the internal temperature was 160 degrees. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is the yummiest bread EVER!!!!! Slightly sweet, fluffy and moist! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, cranberries to 1 cup and walnuts to 3/4 cup. Since I didn't have oats, added 1/4 cup more of flour. I make this bread weekly but it's gobbled up in a few days at home and in a few minutes at work! Don't make if you're on a diet 'cuz you can't just have one slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this today using 1 1/2 c. wheat flour and 1 1/2 c. white flour. I used 1 tsp. cinnamon. I used butter instead of margarine. It came out excellent using my bread machine, just a nice size loaf. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Love the bread. Good texture and nice crust. Incorporated the changes - 1 tsp cinnamon and equal parts bread flour and whole wheat flour. Did need to add an extra half cup of flour..1/4 cup at a time. Brought it to a good consistency with a soft, smooth touch. Next time will use 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon. Makes a nice tasty loaf..we are spoiled and do not like store-bought loaves..most have no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I don't have a bread machine so I used COOK471 as a partial guide and added the 1/2 cup additional bread flour. Without it, kneading the bread would have been impractical. Also, I assembled the bread as a 4 strand circle braid with a 1 whole egg and 1 T milk egg wash. Bake for 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Maybe next time add different dried fruits and nut combinations a Breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was the first recipe that I attempted on my new bread machine since I had an abundance of cranberries that I needed to use up. I was in awe as to how good the bread tasted! I plan to make this recipe more often and will continue to keep a reserve of cranberries and walnuts in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We love this bread, especially as toast with a touch of honey with morning coffee. I don't have a bread machine, so my Kitchen Aid helped me out! My cranberries were looking a little stiff when I pulled them out, so I let them soak in Triple Sec while I made the dough. I let the yeast proof in the water (heated to 105 degrees) while I measured out all the rest of the ingredients. I added the egg, oats, honey, butter, and buttermilk to the yeast and mixed it really well. Then I added the dry ingredients, a little at a time and let the mixer go at it for about 8 minutes. My flour, by the way, was a mix of bread flour and white whole wheat flour. The dough is very sticky, but don't add any more flour! It all works out just fine! I let it rise for about 1 1/2 hours and then added the nuts and drained cranberries. I poured the mixture into a 9x5 loaf pan and let it rise again for about half an hour. This is a bread I'll make again for sure. I think that regular whole wheat flour would be better than the white whole wheat because of the nutty flavor it will give it. Definitely a keeper! Thank you for the recipe! Hubby thanks you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Came out perfect - followed recipe proportions exactly (though butter instead of margarine and pecans instead of walnuts as that's what I had on hand) - bread machine on 2 lb sweet loaf with light crust. delicious and perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.J. Goldenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Yum, I did as another suggested and used 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup bread flour, upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and let the bread machine do the work on the dough cycle. I baked it in a 9x5 loaf and it was so good. It rose so high, I will make it in 2 8x4 pans next. this will be one of my most baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States