Cranberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Tasted good, But I realized I didn't put in the correct amount of water.. It came out very dry and crumbled..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great recipe. Thanks so much. I bake different breads almost every day, have for years, and this may be a new favorite. I plumped my cranberries in a tart lemonade then blotted them with a towel before adding. I used 1/4 c wheat flour and a powdered egg replacer to the equivalent of two eggs. It came out with that essential crisp crust and a dense, moist, and evenly cooked center. Mine rose impressively but nOt too much. The walnut flavor really comes out when this bread is toasted. I will make it again for a brunch this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a good recipe. I did replace 1 cup of bread flour with whole wheat and added a little extra dried cranberries. I only needed to add a few tablespoons of extra flour to get the right consistency. I gave a loaf to my mother in law as a hostess gift and she really liked it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This turned out really well even though I didn't use butter milk, just regular ole 2%. Had to give it a little extra flour to, like someone else said, keep it from climbing the walls of the bread machine pan. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Thank you for a fabulous recipe! I used my bread machine and followed the adjustments Cook471 suggested; I used lavender honey (was all I had), the full tsp of cinnamon and 3.5 cups of flour (2.5 whole wheat bread flour, 1 white bread flour). I wasn't sure when to add the cranberries and walnuts, so I threw them in just before I added the yeast (I used bread machine yeast, 2.5 tbsp). I chose the Dough setting and after 1.5hrs the dough filled my entire container! I baked it at 350 for 40 mins in a regular loaf pan and the bread came out beautifully. It's a lovely cinnamon-raisin alternative, and if you chop the walnuts quite fine anti-nutters won't even know they're in there. Thanks again for sharing this wonderful recipe. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I was surprised to see how big the loaf came out. It almost filled my 3LB bread maker! it came out fluffy and light yet full of flavor. I ended up adding additional cup of flour. Be aware! Next time I am planning to substitue half the flour with whole wheat flour. it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made some substitutions... and still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I started out with 1/4 cup less water, after reading some comments. It was dry so I did add 1/8 back in. I chopped up apricots, pineapple and candied cherries and citron along with the cranberries, it was good. I will make again and add more fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Awesome bread! Moist, chewy, tasteful, and not to sweet. This bread makes a great gift for others - especially around Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I also tried the alterations by adding 1 full tsp cinnamon, 2 1/2 c wheat flour and 1 cup regular bread flour. I had the bread machine do all the work and removed the dough at the end of the rise cycle and put into two loaf pans and baked in the oven at 350 for about 30-40 min. It was great on its own, but I also mixed up about 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 1/2 tbsp melted butter, 1 tbsp milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to make a glaze. Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States