Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I added a whole cup of sour cream and more of the cranberry and some lemon zest and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This cake was delicious and pretty easy to make - I am not a baker, savoury is more my speed, but I was asked to bring a nut safe dessert to a New Year's Eve dinner and fortunately this one caught my attention. I made it pretty much according to the recipe, though combined suggestions from two other reviewers (Thank you Justina & Dianna): I added the zest of 1 orange (naval orange, I think) into step 2 (with the butter, sugar, cinnamon & cranberries); the juice of 1/2 an orange (naval) to the batter; and arranged seedless mandarin orange slices (about 2 oranges worth) in the bottom of the cake pan before adding the cranberry mixture. I also made the vanilla sauce that Justina described in her review (1/2C melted butter, 1C sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2C evaporated milk), but at the last minute zested another orange into it - it was divine! It looked as delicious as it tasted!! My only concern now is that people are going to expect that I can bake!! Thank you AllRecipes & thank you reviewers - it was a huge hit ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obi Quiet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we devoured this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I like the tartness of cranberries so I reduced the sugar by half, left out the cinnamon, added lemon zest & used lemon juice in place of the water. I also used only 3 tbsp of butter instead of the 1/2 cup it calls for & it was still quite buttery and sweet. So if anyone is calorie or sugar conscious, you can probably even reduce a bit further than half and come out with a tasty cranberry topping. I've used a similar recipe from williams sonoma in the past and I may return to it as I found the cake a bit lighter. Also, you don't need to fuss with a springform pan - I've used regular cake pans and aluminum pans and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Everyone at worked loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made it for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is awesome! I doubled the foil on the bottom of the pan, and put it on a pizza pan (just incase). No mess in the oven, and everyone enjoyed it. Thank you so much. I usually buy a lot of whole cranberries in November/December, and freeze them. It's nice to enjoy cranberry dishes when cranberries are not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I have never made a cake from scratch before and certainly not cranberry. This was excellant..I made it per the recipie for thanksgiving and it was quickly devoured. Thankyou for such an original and differant cake. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hazlehurst, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yum, yum! I made this as directed, except for AP flour as I had no cake flour on hand. It was delicious! Pretty sweet though. Maybe I will cut down on the sugar a bit next time. I also like the reviewers who suggested the orange zest, orange juice and then garnishing with orange slices. I will try that next time. Oh BTW, my batter was too thick to 'pour'. I had to spread it around on the cranberries as best I could, but still did not get it all the way to the edge of the pan. Once it baked though, it had spread cleanly to the edges, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruminantia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Being overly careful, I lined the bottom of my pan with three layers of foil. I still had a terrible mess in the bottom of my oven. I had to bake this for at least an hour and 20 minutes. At 50 minutes, it would have been a runny mess. I added the zest of one orange to the cranberry mixture. Overall, the taste was good and it's pretty when garnished with an orange twist and greenery. Will I make this again? Probably. But first I have to clean the oven and that's going to take a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States