Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Tried this recipe out on my family at Thanksgiving. It was by far the most popular dessert! They couldn't get enough of it and it was completely gone by the next day. I'm baking another now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda868
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I would give this 5 stars with the following edits: like other reviewers I bumped the sour cream to 1 cup and added the zest of an orange to the sauce. I also put in a half tsp of vanilla extract and a half tsp of orange extract. It was a big hit for thanksgiving! And really gorgeous on the table!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe turned out great! Everyone loved the cranberry topping best. I did add mandarin oranges to the pan first, zest to the cranberry mixture and a dash of juice to the batter. I covered the pan with 4 layers of overlapping foil and it still dripped out while cooking. Good thing I had put a baking sheet on the bottom rack to catch it! I also made the vanilla glaze recommended in another review, but next time I might use orange juice and confectioners sugar for a brighter firmer glaze. I didn't love how the cake batter came out either, so I might just cheat and use a favorite boxed mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
What a nice way to use cranberries! If you have a deep 9" cake pan, you could use it instead of the springform, but a regular depth cake pan might be too small. I followed the recipe except for increasing the sour cream to 1 cup, since I didn't want 1/4 cup leftover from the 8 oz container sitting in my refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this cake as written and it was a hit! I think next time I'll try it next time with the oranges as mentioned in some of the reviews just to add more depth of flavor. It definitely is a holiday flavor with the cranberries and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Workmates loved this. Followed recipe exactly and it was great--oh wait I didn't have cake flour so I used the cornstarch sub method and it worked fine. Take the foil wrapping instruction seriously--it took me an hour to clean my oven since my foil tore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe four times (and am making it again today). I do not make it in a springform pan, just a regular (larger size) round pan and it pops out super easy. Sometimes, if I don't cook the butter/sugar long enough, it doesn't assimilate quite enough into the cranberries, today I plan to try it with half brown sugar to see if this will work better. Overall, LOVE this recipe and so do all the recipients. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So good! Very pretty presentation! I made the vanilla cream to serve on the side and used 1 cup of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I used a parchment lined 9 x13 pan and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I added a whole cup of sour cream and more of the cranberry and some lemon zest and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States