Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jeangetz
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Two things - really do cover the bottom of the Springform generously with foil, without holes, because the syrup will leak through, and burn in the oven (and set off all your smoke detectors). I went by guess and by golly for a holiday party, though, and it turned out fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeangetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Really amazing!! I baked gluten-free with 2 Tbsp tapioca flour, 1/2 C oat flour and the remaining with Brown rice flour. It was a bit too sweet and I think I am going to cut down the sugar in both the sauce and in the cake next time. Boyfriend loved it and cannot wait for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHY12957

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I have never made a cake from scratch before and certainly not cranberry. This was excellant..I made it per the recipie for thanksgiving and it was quickly devoured. Thankyou for such an original and differant cake. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hazlehurst, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This cake was delicious and pretty easy to make - I am not a baker, savoury is more my speed, but I was asked to bring a nut safe dessert to a New Year's Eve dinner and fortunately this one caught my attention. I made it pretty much according to the recipe, though combined suggestions from two other reviewers (Thank you Justina & Dianna): I added the zest of 1 orange (naval orange, I think) into step 2 (with the butter, sugar, cinnamon & cranberries); the juice of 1/2 an orange (naval) to the batter; and arranged seedless mandarin orange slices (about 2 oranges worth) in the bottom of the cake pan before adding the cranberry mixture. I also made the vanilla sauce that Justina described in her review (1/2C melted butter, 1C sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2C evaporated milk), but at the last minute zested another orange into it - it was divine! It looked as delicious as it tasted!! My only concern now is that people are going to expect that I can bake!! Thank you AllRecipes & thank you reviewers - it was a huge hit ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obi Quiet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we devoured this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I added a whole cup of sour cream and more of the cranberry and some lemon zest and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I used a parchment lined 9 x13 pan and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yum, yum! I made this as directed, except for AP flour as I had no cake flour on hand. It was delicious! Pretty sweet though. Maybe I will cut down on the sugar a bit next time. I also like the reviewers who suggested the orange zest, orange juice and then garnishing with orange slices. I will try that next time. Oh BTW, my batter was too thick to 'pour'. I had to spread it around on the cranberries as best I could, but still did not get it all the way to the edge of the pan. Once it baked though, it had spread cleanly to the edges, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruminantia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great Taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a great holiday cake... I did substitute a few things...I omitted the cinnamon and used 1 tblsp of orange zest and I arranged orange slices in a spiral in the pan and arranged the cranberries around them... added 1/4 cup fresh crushed cranberries and 1/4 cup of orange juice to the cake batter and a full cup of sour cream... it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States