Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe four times (and am making it again today). I do not make it in a springform pan, just a regular (larger size) round pan and it pops out super easy. Sometimes, if I don't cook the butter/sugar long enough, it doesn't assimilate quite enough into the cranberries, today I plan to try it with half brown sugar to see if this will work better. Overall, LOVE this recipe and so do all the recipients. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So good! Very pretty presentation! I made the vanilla cream to serve on the side and used 1 cup of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I used a parchment lined 9 x13 pan and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I added a whole cup of sour cream and more of the cranberry and some lemon zest and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This cake was delicious and pretty easy to make - I am not a baker, savoury is more my speed, but I was asked to bring a nut safe dessert to a New Year's Eve dinner and fortunately this one caught my attention. I made it pretty much according to the recipe, though combined suggestions from two other reviewers (Thank you Justina & Dianna): I added the zest of 1 orange (naval orange, I think) into step 2 (with the butter, sugar, cinnamon & cranberries); the juice of 1/2 an orange (naval) to the batter; and arranged seedless mandarin orange slices (about 2 oranges worth) in the bottom of the cake pan before adding the cranberry mixture. I also made the vanilla sauce that Justina described in her review (1/2C melted butter, 1C sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2C evaporated milk), but at the last minute zested another orange into it - it was divine! It looked as delicious as it tasted!! My only concern now is that people are going to expect that I can bake!! Thank you AllRecipes & thank you reviewers - it was a huge hit ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obi Quiet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we devoured this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I like the tartness of cranberries so I reduced the sugar by half, left out the cinnamon, added lemon zest & used lemon juice in place of the water. I also used only 3 tbsp of butter instead of the 1/2 cup it calls for & it was still quite buttery and sweet. So if anyone is calorie or sugar conscious, you can probably even reduce a bit further than half and come out with a tasty cranberry topping. I've used a similar recipe from williams sonoma in the past and I may return to it as I found the cake a bit lighter. Also, you don't need to fuss with a springform pan - I've used regular cake pans and aluminum pans and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Everyone at worked loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made it for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is awesome! I doubled the foil on the bottom of the pan, and put it on a pizza pan (just incase). No mess in the oven, and everyone enjoyed it. Thank you so much. I usually buy a lot of whole cranberries in November/December, and freeze them. It's nice to enjoy cranberry dishes when cranberries are not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States