Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I made this and shared it with family and everyone said they liked it! Well worth making again, great for Thanksgiving morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I tried another coffee recipe from this site (Aunt something's coffee cake) and it was a disaster. I made it twice and it was still horrible. So, once I found this recipe, I was optimistic that this one would be better because it uses sour cream(I think that definitely makes a difference in coffee cakes). I followed the recipe exactly except I used frozen strawberries b/c it was the only thing I had, and the coffee cake turned out DELICIOUS! It was AWESOME. It was soft and moist *drools* I really loved the texture of the cake! It was NOT dry or hard, nor too soft. This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I can't wait to make it again. I'd recommend this recipe to everyone! I know it sounds like I'm exaggerating the great taste, but I was searching for a good coffee cake recipe and FINALLY, I found this one: DELICIOUS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was fantastic! The perfect combination of sweet and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made this because of all the excellent reviews but I was disappointed. The cake is way too light and fluffy for a coffee cake. If I make this again, it will be with a different batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love this cake! It came out perfectly for me in 62 minutes ( I add 2 minutes every time I open the oven). I didn't make any changes, but next time I'll add 1 tsp almond extract with the vanilla, just because I love it, not because it needs it. I liked this recipe's method of boiling the butter/brown sugar together to get caramel better than just melting the butter -- I didn't have nearly as much leakage as other similar recipes which have you just pour the melted butter over the brown sugar. It binds together in the caramel if you let it boil for 1 minute, which is quite nice. (Don't go longer -- caramel hardens the longer it cooks, you don't want chewy or worse - crispy candy coating - here.) Try and have your cold ingredients at room temperature if you're worried about it underbaking or overbrowning in the allotted time -- nothing will slow a cook time faster than 40 degree eggs & sour cream in a recipe timed for old-fashioned-barely-chilled-in-the-root-cellar-ingredients -- as so many cakes are. This is a good recipe & the "brown color" of the inside of the cake is due to using dark-colored cinnamon, and is perfectly normal & delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very tasty. I doubled the topping recipe along with a whole bag of fresh cranberries and used a 9x13 pan. I didn't want to deal with all the leaks. I changed the cake recipe that I made up so that it would be enough to fill the 9x13. After it cooked, it flipped out beautifully onto a serving tray. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Loved this! Had the perfect combination of tart and sweet... I wish there was more flavor to the "coffecake" part of it though, was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEMIRESPONSIVE
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe almost exactly though I started with frozen cranberries so I stuck them in a small sauce pan with the other topping ingredients and cooked all until the butter and sugar were dissolved. Also, I used Amaretto in place of Vanilla because I was out of Vanilla. Aside from that, the only change I made was lowering the baking temp from 350 to 325, I baked for one hour. The cake turned out beautifully with wonderful flavor. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was an EXCELLENT coffee cake. I followed the directions exactly. Be sure to wrap the springform pan well to prevent leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I really wanted to love this coffee cake but it just diddnt happen for me. It wasnt as pleasant looking as I thought it would be. The only change I made was to bake it in a round cake pan....It tasted fine but didnt knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States