Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This cake looks wonderful when it comes out of the pan. It was hard to resist diving in before our guests showed up. Delicious! I have made it twice in less than one month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is an excellent cake. I made it for Valentine's Day in a heart-shaped Wilton cake pan and it turned out wonderfully! I made it first for an office party today with the sour cream, and again tonight for my family, but I ran out of sour cream, so I used a 6 oz container of apple cinnamon yogurt and 2 oz of whole milk to substitute. Now that I've seen what you can do with cranberries, I'm thinking that just about any fruit would work--why not blueberries? or peaches? Give this one a try--you'll be glad you did! PS: I used the spray flour to coat the pan before pouring in the butter/brown sugar mixture, and that probably helped the cake release perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Creswell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
SO yummy! I don't own a springform pan, so I lined a 9" cake pan with foil-backed parchment paper - worked perfectly. Subbed Smart Balance for the butter (as I always do), and Splenda Baking Blend for the sugars. I also used light sour cream, next time I will try nonfat yogurt. Reduced temp by 25 degrees because of my dark pan, and laid a piece of foil on top halfway through the baking time to keep from overbrowning. Mike was done at 55 min. I will only chop the pecans coarsely next time, and will sprinkle in the pan before the cranberries. I will also freeze more cranberries next holiday season, so I can enjoy this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this using vegan replacements for the butter, eggs and sour cream. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. My daughter has already asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe sounded excellent, but the result was very disappointing. As soon as I took the cake out of the oven, it collapsed. After cooling for 10 minutes, I inverted it on a cake plate and ended up with 5 chunks (blobs) of cake. I had made this for a friend's birthday but it was not fit for guests. The cake and recipe went in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This cake is amazing. I omitted the pecans and drizzed the cooled cake with a glaze that I made. I used a 9 inch springform pan sealed with foil. No mess in the oven :). This one may be a coffee cake but it's best with a big ole glass of ice cold milk! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindalou66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I baked this cake this evening for our Bible study group and definitely got the "oohs and ahhs" when I flipped it over on my platter. Everyone loved it, and most of it was completely gobbled up by the end of the night. I was asked for the recipe, and am gladly giving it out! AMAZING recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This coffee cake is FANTASTIC! I made it yesterday and had nothing but rave reviews on it. I did add the orange zest, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
What a great cake! A little tart from the cranberries, but the cake has just the right balance of sweetness. Is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States