Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This dish is "Skookumchuck" ! A dollop of yogurt for garnish would be a plus......next time, which will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthlessma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My sisters and I made this for my mom on Mother's Day and it turned out wonderful!! The presentation was beautiful, and the cake itself was extremely moist and yummy. We made the recipe as written, except to use a 9x13 pan, and served it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Next time I will double the brown sugar and butter mixture. This cake will definitely be made again in our home!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is an amazing coffee cake recipe. I just loved the tangyness of the cranberries next to the sweetness of the cake. I baked this in a springform pan, but next time I am going to try an angel food pan or a bundt pan. I think this will help the centre bake a bit quicker. Will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was delicious. Have made it twice and had no issues with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Deserves more than 5 stars......also the topping can be used for other upside down cakes. This is probably the best I have found......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This cake looks wonderful when it comes out of the pan. It was hard to resist diving in before our guests showed up. Delicious! I have made it twice in less than one month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is an excellent cake. I made it for Valentine's Day in a heart-shaped Wilton cake pan and it turned out wonderfully! I made it first for an office party today with the sour cream, and again tonight for my family, but I ran out of sour cream, so I used a 6 oz container of apple cinnamon yogurt and 2 oz of whole milk to substitute. Now that I've seen what you can do with cranberries, I'm thinking that just about any fruit would work--why not blueberries? or peaches? Give this one a try--you'll be glad you did! PS: I used the spray flour to coat the pan before pouring in the butter/brown sugar mixture, and that probably helped the cake release perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
SO yummy! I don't own a springform pan, so I lined a 9" cake pan with foil-backed parchment paper - worked perfectly. Subbed Smart Balance for the butter (as I always do), and Splenda Baking Blend for the sugars. I also used light sour cream, next time I will try nonfat yogurt. Reduced temp by 25 degrees because of my dark pan, and laid a piece of foil on top halfway through the baking time to keep from overbrowning. Mike was done at 55 min. I will only chop the pecans coarsely next time, and will sprinkle in the pan before the cranberries. I will also freeze more cranberries next holiday season, so I can enjoy this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this using vegan replacements for the butter, eggs and sour cream. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. My daughter has already asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States