Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
An absolute winner. I baked it in a Pampered Chef oval stone baking dish, with a single recipe, with the following adaptations. I put the cranberries in the food processor for a few spins to coarsely chop them, then used about 2 cups of chopped. I didn't have commercial sour cream, so I put about 2 T lemon juice in a cup measure, then filled it with heavy cream from a farmer friend, and let that thicken while I got the rest of the ingredients ready. I used raw sugar in place of the white sugar. I only needed to bake it 50 minutes at 335. The only change I would make next time is to sprinkle the pecans onto the brown sugar/butter mixture first, then put the cranberries in, rather than the other way around. The crumb of this cake is so light and moist. My family loved it on this snowed-in morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe, particularly for Christmas season. Baked it for my Bible class and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I had over a cup of whole-cranberry cranberry sauce left over from Thanksgiving, not more turkey and didn't want to throw it out. So I found this recipe and used the cranberry sauce in place of the cranberries and sugar for the topping. I also didn't have a springform pan, so I used a glass 9" round baking dish. I cut a circle of parchment to go in the bottom to make sure that the topping would release. It came out delicious! The cake is rich, moist, and buttery and the topping, tart and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! (also, very sweet!) ;-) Next time I'm thinking a bit less sugar (especially in the caramel-y top/bottom), and some orange zest to go with the cranberries. Maybe throw in some cranberries in the batter as well right before cooking and some fresh cranberries on top post-flipping. Overall, the crumb was really nice (light and fluffy)and the caramel top/bottom got the base dense and caramel-y. A big win all-around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCUSS999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is my favorite go to cake in the fall! I buy bags of cranberries when I can get them and freeze them for the off-season. I do make a few changes however- I always use light sourcream(and have used fat free) and it turns out just fine. I also always use my Pampered Chef deep dish baker. I also use 1 stick of butter and 3/4 cup of brown sugar with the pecans- and a full bag of cranberries and probably closer to 3/4c of pecans(I am a handful measurer! 2 handfuls!) Another one that you just can't screw up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This tasted great. My tester came out clean at 50 min, so I took it out. Then it fell in the middle. :( I better bake it longer next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Mmm this was so good! It had a great coffee cake taste plus a nice tang from the cranberries and crunch of the nuts which went nicely with the sweetness of the brown sugar. It was also very moist. I didn't have sour cream on hand so I had to substitute vanilla yogurt (I just cut down a little on the vanilla and sugar in the cake to balance that out) but I'm sure the sour cream is key to the moistness of this cake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Wonderful!! I had made this recipe for a ladies breakfast and it worked out splendid! I added some chopped cranberries in the batter(Worked great) and I didn't have a springform pan handy so I used a bundt pan which worked great, however, you will have to keep in mind that it doesn't take as long to cook and you have to be careful of the sides sticking when done.. I used the other side of a fork (didn't have a knife handy)and slid it in between the pan and the cake so it would come out smoothly.. however, It was either that I didn't do the middle as good or I wasn't really sure what to do when it said to cool it... Any way it stuck to the pan in the middle so I just scraped it off and put it back on top. Other than my mistake it was a fantastic Coffee Cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This has become our holiday morning tradition! Always delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this cake over the weekend and since I got rid of all my springform pans I just put non-stick aluminum foil in the bottom of my pan and it worked GREAT. The cake was a DEFINITE keeper recipe although because I like cranberries so much I will add extra next time or try adding blueberries also. Cherries or apples would also be good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Hook, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Olive Hill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States