Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
don't know why, my cake didn't look nothing like this picture, was dark and soggy, dark maybe from cinnamon and baking soda, bake over 1hr,make only one change, instead of sour cream used plain fat free yogurt, toping didn't stay on, very disappointed because look great and reviews was all good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Loved this recipe. Rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Followed the recipe almost exactly - the only thing different is I added a little bit of whipping cream to thin the batter a bit. The recipe poster would do well to say "spoon the batter" rather than "pour the batter" to reduce the negative comments in that regard. A thinner batter would make it easier to spread over the cranberry / butter / sugar layer. I should also note that it took far longer to cook than the 60 minutes stated. We had it for dessert this evening and my husband is still raving about it. It's a perfect blend of sweet and tart. Oh, I just remembered, I used Splenda to replace regular granulated sugar. No matter what, this recipe is deserving of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I was dissapointed in the flavor of the cake itself. I will use another recipe for the cake and just use the cranberry pecan part of this recipe to make this in the future. The cake was not moist, had an odd feel to the palate, and the cinnamon took too much away from the cranberries. I would much rather have this topping on a dense super moist white coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Forson
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This cake was fabulous! I took it to a dinner and everyone enjoyed it. I baked it at 325 F for 70 minutes as suggested by another reviewer, and that worked out well. I made some substitutions to avoid food allergies in our home. Switched out the two eggs for 1/2 cup of applesauce, and I traded out the pecans for sunflower seeds. I might consider toasting the sunflower seeds in the future to give them more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this for my sewing group, where we like to test new recipes. EVERYONE ,thought it was excellant. The only problem is trying to buy fresh cranberries other than this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe, but not the directions. I added the sour cream to the butter-sugar mixture then the dry ingredients. Also, for the topping, added the berries to the pot. I cooked those on medium three minutes - enough time to pop (cook) & juice to be released. I cooled that then poured it in an 8x8 glass dish. The batter is quite thick so I spooned that on. I'm wondering if buttermilk would be a better choice than sour cream. I went ahead & baked it at 350, not following reviewers' suggestions; & for an hour, not more or less. It is a dark cake; a dark, buttery cake with a tangy cranberry topping. It looks overbaked, but it's just dark. The idea of cranberry upside-down cake looks pretty in my mind, but this one isn't so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
As a baking newbie, I found this recipe awesome, the cake is moist and very delicious. Some of the reviews got me worried but I simply followed the recipe ingredients and directions, used a normal 9 inch cake pan lined with foil, the cake turned out very nice. The only thing that I concern about is the baking temperature and time, I baked the cake 325F instead of 350F for only little more than 30 mins and the surface turned slightly golden, so I sticked a toothpick in the middle of the cake and it came out clean, it's done! Do keep an eye on the cake, keep checking on it! And I used fresh cherry instead of cranberry because I had a bunch of ripe cherries in the fridge, don't know if that's the reason the bottom(top when you flip the cake over) got a bit soggy and the color look greyish, but it tastes way better than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used plain chobani greek yogurt (one whole 6oz container plus some more to make a cup. Only had walnuts & dried cranberries in the house and they were great in this recipe. I plumped the cranberries with boiling water before adding them. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Really good. I was afraid the cranberries would be over-powering, but they were not. I have a 10" pan, so I used 2 cups of cranberries and 3/4 c. pecans. My cake was done after 50 minutes in a 325-degree oven. I think I will also try this recipe with tart cherries and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States