Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious! However, mine took a lot less time to bake than stated. I used a 10 cup bundt ban. It could be that the pan is thin, but overall I think it was done in about 40 minutes (possibly even 45). I used the toothpick test and it showed it done that early. I did use the canned whole cranberry sauce, while many other reviewed used homemade sauce. One suggestion is to take the canned sauce, put in a bowl and mush it up really well. This helps make it easier to put in the batter without it touching the sides of the pan. I just love the tang of the sauce in this cake. Everyone here loved it, even picky daughter and picky grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent cake - nice crumb, nicely moist, good flavour. Served it for a meeting and a motion was made for me to bring it to every meeting;-) I used homemade cranberry sauce, which I applied over half the batter, covered the sauce with the remaining batter. The Almond extract is a nice counterpoint. Next time, I will drizzle an icing with some almond extract in it over the cake. Mmm mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So far the best coffee cake.. moist and fluffy and so good not to sweet but it taste great and so simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Making this for Jesus' Birthday cake on Christmas morning! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjreid95

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This basically was like just cake. It definetly needs more cranberry to it and a streusal. I think I'll tweak the recipe a bit and add orange zest some orange juice and make a streusal on top and swirled in with lots more cranberries. I may even just add fresh whole cranberries to it. The cake moistness was right on. Thumbs up for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We have been baking this cake for 40 years. Some hints: Make sure your baking powder is fresh. Try not to get the cranberry sauce close to the edge of the pan - it sticks like glue. If you don't have a non-stick pan, line the bottom with waxed paper. Make an icing with confectioner's sugar, almond extract and a little milk and drizzle it over the top. We always get rave reviews for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
If I had just made the stupid recipe the way it was supposed to be made and not over complicated things .... I saw some complained about there not being enough batter, so I decided to bake in a mini bundt pan - wrong move on my part as they fell apart while trying to remove and looked horrible BUT ! taste was sensational ! Seriously, we absolutely loved the tang of the cranberries against the sweetness of the cake. I used homemade berry sauce and (grin) failed yogurt in leu of sour cream. Will definately make again - only NOT in mini bundt pans. Note to self: cake mix is light and fluffy, not dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Nice coffee cake. I used homemade cranberry sauce and it worked just fine. I also made it in a bundt pan. It was a bit crumbly and hard to get out of the pan, but delicious for all that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CZAnna
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I love cranberries. this cake is so nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States