Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This cake was delicious! I made it for thanksgiving and my family especially loved it with their coffee. I put a little less almond flavoring, as a few reviews commented on the strong almond taste, and added a bit of vanilla. It was delicious. Also, I had no idea what a tube pan was and so I could not find one. It turned out fine in a square cake pan, with just batter,sauce,batter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was looking through my recipes that I had printed out and put in a folder and came across this one yesterday. Like so many of my cookbooks, it was something that looked good, but I never got around to making. I wanted to bring dessert to my friend's home last evening for dinner, and decided to make this. Needless to say, I was a little nervous bringing a dessert that I had never made or tasted before. Well, as you know......."NOT TO WORRY!"......It was absolutely delicious! Nothing but raves from all of us! Everyone wanted the recipe. This will most certainly be on my list of take alongs and any time I am asked to make dessert. Thank you, Laura, for sharing this wonderful treat. May God truly bless your holiday!....Mary Anne Dowling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was the BEST!! I added crumb nut topping (1/3C flour, 1/4C packed brown sugar, 3T melted butter) then drizzled a glaze (powdered sugar, vanille extract, milk). It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Delicious cake! I did increase the ingredients by 1/4 as recommended by another review, plus added 1 c. chopped pecans to the batter. I used Cran-Fruit for Chicken instead of a can of cranberry sauce because that was what I had on hand. It comes in two flavors -- Cranberry-Raspberry and Cranberry-Orange. I used the raspberry. I took the cake out after 50 minutes and it was slightly overdone, so will try 40-45 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Okay but not fantastic. I didn't have a tube pan so I made muffins instead. I poured the batter into the individual compartments and swirled in some cranberry sauce. I think they would have been better if I'd put more sauce in each one but otherwise they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this and I only think I got 2 small pieces, my husband ate the rest!!!...LOL We both loved it!!... I didnt have the almond extract so I used 2 teasp of Vanilla and also added about 1/2 teasp of Cinnamon...and I dusted the cake very lightly with powdered sugar when it was cooled... Very good the next day warmed in the microwave for a few seconds with a little dab of butter... I know this will be on my Thanksgiving and Xmas tables this year... Kiki (Brampton,On, Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This really is the best coffee cake! It needs no icing...perfect just like it is. My husband, not usually big on sweets, requests this ALL the time and even asked me to make it for him to take to work. I make 1 1/4 times the amount of batter though because the recipe didn't seem to make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Can you say "yummy"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I took the cake out of the oven 10 minutes early & it was already overbaked. The batter was very thick (it didn't pour) & there didn't seem to be enough batter to make that many layers, so I just did batter, cranberry, batter. I wasn't impressed with the cake (though it's probably much better when it isn't overbaked!) but I thought the cranberry sauce made a great filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Amazing, amazing, amazing. Everyone loves this coffee cake. The texture and color are so rich. The almond extract does so much. I used more cranberries...excellent. Thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States