Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I grated a little fresh orange peels into my cranberries before putting them down the center of the cake. I used regular vanilla because I didn't have any almond extract. This is definitely something I would make again. Very moist and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good, but not great. Still looking for the perfect cranberry coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was pretty good. I even used fat free sour cream. I read some reviews, and after making the batter, decided there wasn't enough to go around in a bundt pan, so I used a loaf pan, and it came out perfectly moist. And then I made a glaze to put over it. I didn't really measure, but it was about 1/2 cup powdered sugar, milk and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This recipe turned out very well-I used 1/2 c fat free plain yogurt and 1/2 c sour cream, added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c applesauce. I used a bundt pan. I poured one layer of cake batter then swirled the leftover cranberry sauce and covered it with the remaining cake batter. It took 50 min. to bake. In an effort to use up food in my refrigerator I also threw in 1/2 of a smashed ripe banana, which I thought added to the taste and moisture. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Good recipe! I subbed vanilla for the almond extract and used low fat sour cream. Like previous reviewers I wished I had made more batter when I put it in the pan, but since I didn't have more sour cream, I just went with it. In the end I was glad because the cake rose to fill my bundt pan. Somebody didn't know what a tube pan is - it can be a springform pan with a cone in the middle, or a solid bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I tried this the first time in a bundt pan and it was too dry (though my in-laws loved it). Tried it a second time in a loaf pan and it was much more moist, I practically ate the whole thing by myself. Definitely double the cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is yummy, moist, cranberry-y. Tastes somehow as though it has poppy seeds in it - I bet that would be a good addition. Baked in a 9x9" pan for 45 minutes as my Bundt (tube pan) is at a relative's house, otherwise followed directions to a "T". I doubt it will keep long, though, with moist cranberries. No doubt dry out in the fridge, or mould quickly on the counter. Soft crumb; basic ingredients; a hit for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cake was great! I followed the recipe, except I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans in a bundt cake pan, then filled as directed. Then I omited the powdered sugar topping. It was so moist and delicious! A new favortie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is great! Made it this morning. My toddler loved it, too. Great way to use leftover cranberry sauce during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Zowie! My husband can't stop raving about this cake! Some slight additions, which I highly recommend: Add 1 tsp. vanilla. Double cranberry sauce filling. Add crumb topping: 1/3 cup flour; 1/4 cup brown sugar; 1 tsp. cinnamon; 1/2 cup chopped pecans; 3 tblsp. butter. Note: This is a very thick, almost cookie-like batter, and may be difficult for some to work with. Just be patient, it doesn't have to be perfect. Also, the amount of batter in this recipe will not yield to 3 layers, but 2 is just fine. Baking time was a bit longer than recommended, so keep an eye on it after the first 50 minutes of baking. I started testing after 50 minutes, and it came out perfect in 60. Delicious cake; will make again, perhaps using strawberry preserves or cherry pie filling next time. UPDATE: Made this cake two more times: once using strawberry preserves (not recommended - I may have used too much), and once using chocolate chips, which was even better! Next one I'll try using blueberries. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States